rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















potpourri for $100
Saturday, Aug. 21, 2004, 6:35 AM

It's back to the old grind this weekend. Drag this pit back from the edge of condemnation, before the health department steps in.

And tomorrow, we will be making a foodie run down Waukegan Road, to hit the Trader Joe's, the Whole Foods, and the Oberweis Dairy.

P & E have been listening to us rave about these runs for months, and have decided they need to come along and see for themselves. Should be fun!

I talked to Mom last night, and she said it was a beautiful funeral. Aunt Nellie was one of those people that everyone knows. The funeral was big, and the minister was a good friend of my aunt's, so it was a warm and personal service. She (the minister) really laid out Aunt Nellie's contributions to her community--a sizable task. When Mom was talking to the minister, the Reverend mentioned that she had been surprised to learn than Nellie was 86...she was such an ageless person. And I can echo that. She always seemed that way to me, too. Like I told Mom--we should just be grateful and honored that we got to have her all these years. She was special. Even her last days were typical Nellie. She was coherent one day, so the doctor laid it out for her that she had about two weeks left. In her typical, highly efficient, don't-want-to-be-any-trouble way, she was gone in three days. God love her.

I have decided that my weight is currently out of control and have resolved to buckle down and lose 25 pounds. I need to lay in stocks of slim-fast and diet pills (I can't do it without them. I accept that.)and make sure I drink my water. And take a walk every evening.

I know I'll look better, feel better, and be better if I do.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com