rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















wow, 3 in two days!
2004-08-07, Saturday, 7:18 a.m.

It's after seven; time for my coffee break. I've been up for a while--trying to get the jump on the housework. So far, I've gotten the laundry started and cleaned out the fridge and the big cupboard that holds the cereal and snacks. The spouse usually trashes that one in a hurry, and then proceeds to just stack all his junk food on top of the counter. But I want to get this house into reasonable shape before we leave for ND.

When he got home yesterday, we discussed the Niece situation, and when we compared notes, realized that she had been attempting to play us. Didn't work; he called and told her mom it wasn't going to happen.

She does have a tendency to play people one against the other; I'm never sure if it is the natural tendency of an 11-year-old girl, or if it is the "lying manipulator gene" come to the fore. Her dad has it in spades, and he got it from Grandma. It makes me nervous as hell to see Niece pull these tricks, because I love her so much. I'd never want her to take after that family strain. If she has to be like her dad's side of the family, Grandpa, Uncle P., Uncle J., and Uncle S. are much better choices to emulate.

Well, I need to devote more time to getting organized, so I have to make this (fairly)brief. I already have a long list of errands to do and shit I need to buy. And tons of chores around here.

But I have two things to be grateful for: He has to work this morning, so he's out of my hair. And Dish Network is giving us a free satellite radio sample this weekend (Sirius), and I can listen to their Broadway channel while I work.

I have to say, though. After listening to Sirius, I'm awfully glad we bought XM.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com