rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















Fridays are oddly boring, yet entirely welcome.
2004-07-23, 2:49 p.m.

I'm tum pluckered today...I got a good night's sleep, no hand pain, but just incredible groggy-poopy feeling. The opressive heat and humidity of the past few days has given way to another cool, breezy, (mostly)sunny day, but all I want is a nap. And all Raji wants is to be a pill. Perfectly good behavior through two days of thunderstorms, and then I come home on this beautiful day and she's pulled a double mess on the rug. MGRH.

I figured that I would spend this afternoon scrounging all over town like a desperate crack addict, looking for Prilosec. But on my way to work today, I had a brain wave and stopped at Woody's. They don't put actual boxes out for fear of theft, but they had several of the scanner tags for the big, 42-count, 6-week size. I snagged one and went to pay, but then they didn't have any of the big boxes. Evidently they don't grasp the finer points of the scan tag system. Like only putting out as many as you have product units.

I'm thinking, "Great. I'm gonna have to get a refund, I'm going to be late for work, what a pain." Nope. The guy reaches over, grabs three of the 14 count boxes, and hands them to me. Have a nice day!

Why, thank you. I think I will.

So that freed up my afternoon. I went to the bank and then ran to the drugstore and grocery.

The drugstore is one of my favorite places to poke around and buy silly things I don't need. Today I got Claritin and nylons, which are obviously necessities, but I also bought some $1 beady items that I can take apart and remake into something of my own. I also bought a bunch of boxes of individually wrapped wet wipes to send to Iraq. Found 'em in the dollar section, and much cheaper than they usually are. Good deal.

And...I bought Spouse a gift. Just because I thought he'd like it. A Texas Hold'em Tournament Poker set. It's kinda cool, actually. A nice nylon zipper-case, 200 poker chips, 2 poker decks, and instructions. It even has a "dealer button" included! I think he'll like it. He's really into those televised poker tourneys, and seems to enjoy the game.

I mainly ran to the grocery to get something for lunch, but I ended up just getting cereal and milk. And a canister of orange Kooolaid mix, which I have a weird jones for. And a cool, retro-looking pack of "Dentyne Classic", becasue it reminded me of my grandparents.

Well, I'm either going to play a computer game now, or take a nap. But anyway, my duty to my diary is done.

I lied...I decided to remodel, instead. Thanks to the marvelous help, talent and generosity of Raging Pistachio Designs, I could actually do this by cutting and pasting the code. and for HTML idiots like myself, that is quite a godsend. I'm really pleased with the new look.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com