rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















sweet morn
2004-06-19, 7:16 a.m.

Good morning, world. It's a lovely morning out; the air is sweet and fresh and cool. Sunny, with a light breeze--just downright pleasant in a way we don't get too often here. I slept like a log last night in my fresh bed, and woke feeling stiff but rested.

Spouse is off to the diner with a buddy who's an inner circle regular. He says he's getting inducted into the next level of regular diner patronage this morning, so I stayed home to let him enjoy himself. I have a pot of fresh-ground coffee brewing, and feel like relaxing a bit, lounging around the house.

We went to the Mills last night so he could pick up cigars, and had dinner at Ruby Tuesday's. He likes it there, but I can't help noticing that practically every item on their menu is fried, caked with red pepper, buried under a mound of cheese, or some combination of the three. But they do have a great salad bar, so I had that. And what they call a Mega-rita. A frozen margarita in a pub-pint glass. It was pretty good!

We stopped at fye to look around and Scot found the SCTV box set for the bargain price of $59.00, so I bought it, and then I went to the Borders outlet while he got his cigars. I found some decent stuff on clearance. Billy Connolly's biography "Billy", "P is for Peril", by Sue Grafton, a Lisa Scottoline called "Courting Trouble", and a humorous novel called "Ella in Bloom", by someone I've never heard of. All hardcover, and a total of $17.00. Not a bad deal.

We also walked through the new Sears store to check it out. It really is quite nice.

When we got home, Spouse decided to mow the yard, even though it was starting to get dark. Eh. Whatever floats his boat, I guess. At least he didn't have to do it in the blazing sun. As for me, I dove right into the deliciousness that is my own copy of SCTV, after all these years. What fun! In the liner notes, the producer mentioned that the half-hour episodes will be released next. This collection is the NBC years. Not so great in a lot of ways, but nine-90 minute eps with lots of classic stuff is certainly better than no SCTV at all.

We have to go to a graduation party today for the daughter of one of Spouse's co-workers. Yay. I'm not really looking forward, as most of the people he works with are truly descpicable, including his excremental (accent on mental) boss. I'll have to make up a card and stick in some cash, so I'd better close now, drink my coffee, and start thinking about the day.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com