rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















bad news, bad day
2004-06-01, 5:08 p.m.

Well, I would rate the dye job a success. I had to leave it on for 40 minutes to get the grey to cover, but it did a good job, the color is very close to my natural (pre-grey) color, and my hair doesn't feel like straw. I must remember-- Hydrience, #40, Tawny Breeze - Light Ash Brown; I think we have a winner. We'll have to see if it holds well or fades fast, though.

Sad news from Iraq; J.'s workplace got hit with by a mortar. He is unhurt, thank God, but only because he'd gone to the bathroom. The blast destroyed his workplace and severely injured his co-worker, who later died. That happened late Saturday/early Sunday, from what I can gather from news sites--there isn't anything from a US news source yet, and the foreign sites are sketchy and focus more on civilian deaths from the attack. They work in flimsy little trailers, and J sent a couple of photos of the destruction. I can't imagine anyone in that tiny little metal box surviving a mortar. His mom is not handling this news very well, although she's very grateful he was spared. The thought of her son so close to harm is really getting to her, though. We won't know who got killed until the military has notified the family. I find myself unable to pray about war, so the best I can do is to "send good thoughts", and say thanks that J is okay.

This morning hasn't been very good, actually. Traffic was awful, my watch has stopped, and then the news about Iraq. Must be Tuesday! Plus, I just have a bad feeling about the department meeting that BossMan has called for eleven am. There was no meeting topic given on the scheduling mail, which is always a bad sign. No news is usually bad news around here.

Mixed news this morning, too, regarding the release over the weekend. The (so far) good news is that the stuff I tested went fine. The bad news is one of the key pieces not only didn't fix what it was supposed to fix--it seems to have wiped out a bunch of other stuff as well. UPDATE: as I was writing this, the source of problem was discovered. The person who tested it originally did not perform the post-release validation. Evidently, no one who did perform the post-release validation knew what they were doing. When procedures were correctly followed, everything was fine. YAY!

Later

Turns out I was heebjeebious about that meeting for nothing. Just a touch base, your vacation is approved (ABOUT TIME, TOO), outsourcing is a good thing 45 minute BS fest.

Spouse called while I was in the meeting, though, and left me a message to say that he did the thing I've repeatedly asked him not to do and that pisses me off no end, again.

I am perfectly capable of making my own appointments. In fact, I would venture to say I'm actually more qualified to make my appointments than he. After all, I know what I've already got going on, and can avoid schedule conflicts. But does this bit of logic penetrate that skull of his? It may someday, but it has shown no signs of it between 09/30/1983 and the present.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com