rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















cool line about Hulk
2004-05-11, 2:47 p.m.

The best line I read on the internet today:

(from the Jump the Shark site) "(The Incredible Hulk ) show was basically Les Miserables, with an irradiated Jean Valjean and an investigative reporter as Javert."

She did it to me again. Team Leader is off 'sick'. I am spending a ridiculous amount of time attempting to cover for the test lead. She is never here! As the senior team member, the n00bs come to me for guidance and to be assigned tasks, but I am not in the position to handle this--since I am not the supervisor, I am not privy to the information I need to cover for her adequately. It's a lose-lose situation for me, because I can't refuse to do this or I'll get called on the carpet--yet I can't do it well, because I'm kept in the dark. I truly think at this point that I am not going to get over getting screwed out of that job. And I can usually get over anything. It is weird how angry I still get every time I think about it.

Coupled with the increasingly annoying eavesdropping from a senior staff member in the next work bay, I'm getting seriously fed up. This staff person is not the most likable person in the place, but I feel sorry for her because she is fairly young, her husband died horribly and suddenly on her, and I don't really think she has any friends. She seems desperate just to talk sometimes. The problem is, she listens in on conversations. All the time. The problem, of course, is that those who eavesdrop usually hear 40 to 60 percent of any given conversation--half that if you are on the phone--and they tend to fill in the blanks to suit themselves. This person often jumps into my conversations in a helpful way. A genuinely helpful way, not just "trying to help" and being anything but. But I can't think of anything that would make me more dis-inclined to be grateful and appreciative. I have already had a problem with Team Leader's eavesdrop/jump to conclusions habit (hers includes the immediate third step of narc to the boss, though.) and I am sensitive to it.

Spouse called at lunch and let me know he shipped the big box o' soldier goodies...$31.00 shipping and he had to fill out a customs declaration. I told him he was sending awfully heavy stuff! The microwave popcorn and the 12-quart size drink mixes are what racked up the charges, I think. I was going to send it from work, but it wound up being too heavy and ungainly for my cranky back and stubby arms. When he came home last night, he asked if I could get more names. Sounds like the guys at the 'duck ranch' want to play too. That's fine! I spoke to DS and she gave me more names.

Taking little steps and leaving big footprints.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com