rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















Dreams, TV, Beads
2004-04-27, 2:36 p.m.

That's better! As soon as I put to post my complaint about never having cool dreams anymore, I had a rather interesting night. One dream in particular was very intriguing:

I dreamt I lived in a very small and isolated town, where nobody ever tried to leave, so nobody realized they couldn't. The town was escape-proof, in a Twilight Zone kind of way, and I solved the mystery! The wicked man who controlled the town was unmasked and brought down by my skills, and then I became the first person to leave the town--I went to college. Happy ending! I had several dreams last night, and the one thing they seemed to have in common was that I was young--late teens to early 20s. What does that say about the state of my psyche?

I think I'm beginning to get hooked on A&E's Monday night line-up. "Family Plots" is shaping up to be the "American Chopper" of the funeral biz. I really like Shonna (sp?), the embalmer. She kicks everybody's ass when it comes to how hard she works, and yet she is always trying to mediate for the others, and is actually a funeral director as well. A good one. Last night's show (2nd one) was tense, though. Everyone was either angry or crying. But how do you complain that a show about the funeral business is a downer?!

As for "Airline", that show has it all for me. I laugh, I cry, I scratch my head, I get royally pissed off. The thing that is really starting to crack me up is the people who say "I'll sue, I'll sue", like malignant little parrots. You can tell that these idiots have no idea how many times a day airline employees hear this shit. It must cease to feel very threatening after the 3000th time you hear the phrase. Especially when those 3000 times are in your first week of employment.

I really adore Michael, the LAX customer-service guy. He is kind and nice, but by no means a dummy or a pushover. Seems like a real decent guy.

I love these kinds of shows because I can have them on while I'm doing my beadwork. I don't have to pay visual attention, so I can multi-task. Last night I really needed to get back to the beading, for the peace it brings. I worked on the big piece (the multi-strand piece with the tasseled pendant and Bali silver findings) a little, and I started a quickie bracelet. I will probably finish both tonight, if my hands hold up. It is cold again today, and that wreaks havoc on these sub-par mitts of mine. But I get so sick of saving my hands for work, and never getting to do the stuff I love. I haven't touched my piano in months, except to dust it. It is supposed to be quite warm tomorrow, so it is to be hoped that the pain will ease significantly.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com