rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















tedium
December 12, 2005,

Okay. I go see �Rent�, and then that makes me want to listen to the OCR, and then I end up with a song stuck in my head. La Vie Boheme? Nope. Today 4 U? Nope. Out Tonight? Nope.

Musetta�s Waltz.

Can Puccini be considered an �earworm�?



It doesn�t fill me with much confidence to have everyone I work with assume my job is so simple that a demi-moronic mouth-breather slob from (insert whatever depressed area we�re operating a sweatshop in here____.) can do it. A few weeks ago, when they were trying to stuff 10 pounds of testing shit into the 5-pound sack we call December, it was decided that they could farm some of the December testing out to the field offices, and have it done by folks on the production side of things.

Well, at the time, I called them on this idea, and pointed out that what I do is, in fact, a legitimate career, which requires training and experience. (And could NOT, in fact, be done by what I actually came right out and called �Helper Monkeys�.)

Naturally, I was pooh-poohed, patted on the head, and sent away, and then management had a fine little session of patting themselves on the back for being brilliant problem-solvers, and of cursing me out as an ungrateful whelp who didn�t even appreciate their brilliance and benevolence.

And three weeks later, when NOTHING has been validated, because the helper monkeys CANNOT DO MY JOB, they crawl back, cap-in-hand, to say I was right.

But that is no consolation for me, as I now have one week to validate this code, instead of
one month. First I get insulted, then f*cked in the ass.

Another popular scenario is for the programmers to tell me that they absolutely cannot maintain my environment without certain crucial daily actions on my part. Only to shut me down anyway, or go ahead and perform those actions themselves, if mood strikes them.

I spend every day fighting against a fundamental lack of respect for me, my abilities, and the job my team does. It�s so f*cking tedious.




Reading: "Son of a Witch : A Novel", by Gregory Maguire.

Listening: OCR of �Rent".

Beading: Not currently beading

One Year Ago, I didn't post.

At Random: click here


|



recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com