rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















gunning for cookies. again.
December 11, 2005, 9:27 A.M.

Well, back to a state of semi-exhaustion for me.

We took the kids shopping yesterday, and got Niece outfitted with a great pair of CCM figure skates. Then Spouse and I separated them and helped them get gifts for each other, as well as something for their stepdad.

We had a nice steak lunch at the Lonestar, and then took them to Wal-mart to let them shop for toys to donate to the toy drive. They each got $20 to spend, and I think they did a nice job. Niece picked out an electronic game called "Twenty Q", and a small Disney Princess playset (Belle, from "Beauty and the Beast"). Nephew picked out a bunch of Hot Wheels stuff.

After we dropped their donations off, we came home and wrapped their gifts, then the kids and I went to the movies while Spouse crashed out at home.

Nephew and I loved "Rent". I gave it an 8 out of 10, Nephew went 8 1/2. Niece seemed to like it too, but I think a lot of it was over her head. (Damn, I hope it was, anyway!)

We came home and ordered a delivery of their favorite fried chicken, as they were starting to get hungry. Amazingly, it was here in about ten minutes! That is unheard of, but I guess they were pulling a batch just as I called, and everything timed out just right. I was happy, as we were able to get dinner out of the way quickly, and start on baking a batch of Spritz cookies.

Between them and Spouse, they had already managed to completely wipe out Thursday's batch! And they really wnated to try the cookie gun. Well, a job that takes me two hours all by myself took almost twice that with "help". We watched "Love, Actually" (we all adore that movie) and trashed the kitchen and made some very interesting cookies, then they crashed in the living room while I cleaned up the mess by myself. They were watching some movie on Disney called "The Ultimate Christmas Present", about a little girl causing it it snow in LA.

I ended up falling asleep about midnight, only to have Dog and Spouse wake me up at five, dammit. I made a pot of coffee and washed Nephew's jeans (he accidentally brought an old pair that didn't fit, so I had to wash yesterday's pair for him. He does this every damn time!) And everybody squabbled and brawled around here until they were dry, then Spouse took them to Frank's Diner for breakfast, so I could have some peace and quiet.

Nephew's coin collecting is becoming a passion with him, and yesterday he went through every piece of change I had on me, looking for interesting coins.

So after they left, I went into my stash, and sorted out the best 1999, 2000, and 2001 state quarters I have, since he says he needs those years. I intend to ask him if he likes looking, or getting, the coins better. If he says getting, I'll give them to him. If he says looking, I'll give them to his mom, and she can slip them to him "accidentally" here and there.


Now that I'm showered and dressed, I'm trying to get the house picked up and some laundry done, before they get back, so I'm cutting this off here.




Reading: "Son of a Witch : A Novel", by Gregory Maguire. The sequel to �Wicked�.

Listening: XM "Holly"

Beading:Not currently beading

One Year Ago, I didn't post.

At Random: click here


|


recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com