rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















employee of the nanosecond
November 30, 2005,

Some (moderately)good news (for a change) from Battlefield Work--
According to the boss, and despite every bit of evidence to the contrary, I continue to RAWK! at work. I got a great "grade" (equal to a "B+", and nobody gets an "A"), some terrific comments, and only got dinged on one thing.
Yeah. Just the one thing...

Basically, that one thing was...um...

Errrr...being a bitch. Fortunately, my boss was sympathetic to that plight, being one herself. So she only dinged me in the most perfunctory, pro forma way. And my promotion is once again in the pipeline, although she could be overridden by her boss again, like last year.

And just in case I got any ideas about things improving in any way at work, D's boss refused to give her team permission to take lunch at the same time, so they could give her a farewell luncheon on her last day. Vindictive much?

Sheesh, I hate it when everything gets all "junior high" around there. Even me getting dinged for bitchiness comes out of the tattletale crybabies waah-waahing to the boss.

Yeah, and speaking of which (speaking of witch?!) Miss Sensitivity and I are finding ourselves in an uneasy alliance, united against a common foe.

A particularly evil ex-boss of mine is in charge of one of the projects I'm working on right now, and she is steamrolling everyone--and every project--in her path. That includes me and Miss S. And I'm siding with Miss S., as the lesser of two evils. Because as bad as she is, I have never had threaten to "pull that pole out of her ass and beat her to death with it", as I did with the The Common Enemy (hereafter known as TCE).

Hey, I didn't say I was UNFAIRLY accused of being a bitch.



And, of course, the sadness today of saying goodbye to D. I promised myself I wouldn't cry, but I teared up when I gave her a hug. I gave her a goodbye card and her jewelry (she was tickled) this morning, and we had our last little work chat. I'm so bummed, even though I know this is the right thing for her and her husband to do. I'm feeling selfish about it, and I don't care. Friends like D. don't grow on trees, and I freely admit that she's leaving a hole in my life.



Reading: �Pride and Prejudice�, by Jane Austen.

Listening: XM Radio...surfing through the Christmas channels. Highlights include: They Might Be Giants singing "O, Tannenbaum", in German, Stan Freberg doing "Christmas Dragnet", and lots of Trans-Siberian Orchestra.

Beading:Finished D.'s peach necklace and earrings, and I'm back to working on the two-strand bracelet in the tanzanite-colored beads,now that I have the right supplies.

One Year Ago I was enjoying my new coat.

At Random: click here

|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com