rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















lots of good reasons not to go
November 16, 2005, 9:20 P.M.

I�m trying to think some positive thoughts today, so I can put down something that is more than a litany of woe. Let�s see:

D. gave me a beautiful Chanel-style Emma James jacket this morning. A nubbly tweed with rose-pink, brown, black, and cream in it. It fits like it was cut to my measure. I ADORE it. Over black slacks and my pale rose dress blouse (from the suit I wore to my niece�s graduation), with the necklace and earrings I made for that suit, it will be perfect for Spouse�s company Christmas Party.

SO. I�m glad I got a new jacket, and I�m glad I have something to wear to that party.

2 positive thoughts.



I�m not glad I have to go to the damn party, though. We go through this periodically�the argument about office parties. I had a reprieve when he worked for Psycho-boss, because he didn�t go to those parties. It started up again this summer, when he had his company picnic. But I really don�t understand why I have to go at all. Here�s a bunch of reasons why I shouldn�t have too, though:

  1. I do not CELEBRATE any midwinter festive occasion that would warrant a party. Therefore, I have no reason to attend a celebration.

  2. I have a strict rule about fraternizing with co-corkers. This includes his co-workers. While I may choose to very infrequently make an exception to that rule, it is always on an individual basis, and not for a group, or an occasion.

  3. I refuse to go to my own company�s functions, and would never in a million years expect him to attend anything to do with my work, even if I chose to go myself. So why am I expected to attend his?

  4. The whole fish out of water thing. To be blunt, most of the people at this party are going to be machine operators and their spouses. I won�t have anything I can talk to these people about, and they will bore me into a stupor. This happened at the reunion; I had more in common with the pilots than anyone else. Well, Spouse works with some ex-pilots now, so maybe it won�t be too bad.

  5. This thing is being held at a POLKA BAR, and the band is a lame-ass oldies-rock nightmare.



Back to positive. I wore my new gloves this morning when I walked the dog, and I am absolutely tickled at how warm they are. I�m still kind of jazzed to have found black leather, insulated gloves for $10.39! When I got back to the house, my legs and my face were frozen, but my hands were toasty.

See, before, I never worried much about gloves, because no matter what I did, my hands were going to be cold and numb. But now, just by exercising a bit of care, I can have real, comfortable, usable hands!



Unfortunately, the gloves couldn�t protect the little piece of me that dies every time it snows.
It isn�t much; just a light flurry. But it�s enough to do me in. And to make my hip feel like it�s full of broken glass.


Something else positive: I actually slept well last night. So I�m pretty well rested and feeling much less frayed at the nerves than I have since last Saturday or so. Must be the hormones leaving, or coming back, or what ever the hell has to happen for me to normalize. Anyway, I wish it would happen quicker, because I still have the scatty-headedness, and I really don�t have the time for that.



Reading: �The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn�, by Mark Twain.

Listening: XM On Broadway. Songs from �Assassins�, �Phantom�, �Camelot�.

Beading: I�m Bored!

One Year Ago I was having a day just exactly like today.

At Random: click here


|


recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com