rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















ain�t I the crafty one
October 21, 2005, 01:27 P.M.

Since they announced yesterday at work that today would be another White Sox (jeans) Day, I ran around a bit after work, in fruitless search for Sox gear. I had my baseball cap, but really wanted a tee or sweat shirt, as well. No luck, but I did have a flash of inspiration.

I have special computer paper and software for creating iron-on transfers.

So I went to Fashion Bug and got a white tee, then I went home and got creative!
Today, I�m wearing a shirt with the legend: �2005 American League Champions�The Chicago White Sox�. Pretty spiffy�and everyone at work thinks I�m a genius.

And I also found a great zipper fleece jacket, black with grey facings, at the Jewel-Osco, of all places. For $7.49, yet. Cripes, I paid $11.99 for the damned white tee shirt!



And ya know�I have bumpersticker paper, too�


I stopped and got Chinese on the way home from work last night, as I knew I was going to be busy all evening, what with washing my jeans, designing and printing and putting together my shirt, and doing the final assembly on my current bead project. Spouse was open to a little Chinese takeout, and at least I can get real food there, instead of that plastic fast food crap. Added bonus�leftovers for lunch today!


As I said, I finally finished the BC survivor bracelet for that co-worker. But when I went to show it to my friend D this morning, she asked if she could buy it. D works for the person I made it for. That person has a birthday on Monday. So D paid me for it (I only charged her for materials) and it will be a gift from her team to their boss. I don�t care how it goes down, as long as A) I get paid, and B) the bracelet goes to the person for whom it was designed. Since she gets her jewelry, and I get my money, I�m happy.


I have tons of stuff I should probably be doing right now, but I�m hanging out at the library instead, just to get a chance to write a post. Which, given their dreadful connection, may or may not actually get posted. But at least Word works, and I can write it.


Having something to say is a different matter. That old adage about all work making for the dull is pretty true. I feel like I�m running from morning till night, just to stay in one place and not slip back. (Maybe I�ve been spending too much time on the treadmill, huh?) It makes me look back on my week and realize that I what I see is boring as all hell.

The sad thing is, I don�t know what I�d be doing if I had a chance. I�m so burnt out that speculation seems like worthless effort, and it has been so long since I did have viable options that I wouldn�t recognize one anyway.


GYM REPORT:

20 minutes
1.08 miles
139 calories

Since Spouse is on third shift, and sleeping all day, and the sacred Friday Lunch is no more, I see no reason why I should not go to the gym on Fridays. So I did. I had an entire morning�s worth of evil workplace horrors to burn off, anyway. I took it easy, but a day with a workout is better than a day I skipped, so I�m happy.




Reading: "Unnatural Death", by Dorothy L. Sayers

Listening: XM, Sonic Theatre. Interviews with Barbara Ehrenreich on her book "Bait and Switch: The (Futile) Pursuit of the American Dream", and with Professor Garrett G. Fagan, on �The Twelve Caesars�, by Suetonius (Robert Graves translation)

Beading: Finished the survivor bracelet. Now I want to make a pretty and sparkly pink bracelet for me.

One Year Ago, I was fretting about Spouse.

At Random: click here


|


recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com