rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















shattered
October 19, 2005,

The geography I learned in 3rd grade was, apparently, wrong.

I just found out that my home state touches South Dakota. I did not know that. I was firm�almost arrogant-- in the knowledge and belief that Iowa touches (clockwise, from the top�as I was taught): Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Missouri, and Nebraska. And that�s it.

I�m shattered. My mind is blown. I want to weep. Why did Mrs. Wallace lie to me?!



I don�t really have time to fart around with writing entries that take over an hour to compose, so my new approach is: attack it like I do my housework�a few minutes here and there. Maybe this way I�ll be able to get back to a regular posting schedule. And who knows? Maybe this technique will to lead to more fun and less bitching!


Did I mention that there seems to be a large magnet buried in the street outside my house? All right�so I can�t prove it, but something out there has, in the last week, managed to separate vehicles from their A) mufflers, B) heat shields, and
C) tailpipes. And on Sunday, I witnessed a very memorable instance of a (metal) boat flying off of its trailer, and cruising down the street on its side.

On that last one, I wasn�t terribly surprised to see about 50 beer cans roll out as it passed�but still. There isn�t any major bump or pothole along our block, and I can�t for the life of me figure out what�s causing this sudden dramatic increase of scrap metal.



What with the fact that my job is rapidly becoming Wal-Mart quality employment, and with one of my best friends moving to Michigan, I think I�ll run away to Grand Rapids and manage a J C Penney store.

I checked Career Builder, and they�re hiring. But I�d have to settle for assistant manager.

I�m totally qualified, though.



GYM REPORT:

31 minutes
1.75 miles
222 calories




Reading: "Unnatural Death", by Dorothy L. Sayers

Listening: XM 70s on 7. Eric Carmen, The Eagles, George Harrison

Beading: Pink crystal, rose quartz, and sterling silver survivor bracelet. I�m still trying to get this laid out the way I want�pleasing pattern AND correct length don�t always parse�Oh--and I�ve added glass pearls�of palest pink.

One Year Ago, I was ACT-ing!

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com