rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















beading again
September 30, 2005, 4:44 P.M.

Well, it's my best friend's birthday, so I will be running over after bit to give her her gift. I put her grill together last night, and it wasn't any big deal. Took me about half an hour. The instructions were very easy to follow, and I was surprised to learn that it was manufactured just a few miles from here, in Antioch, Illinois. So if she ever needs a part for it, she'd be able to get it without too much trouble.

I won't be able to stay too late, as I need to get up in the morning and go in to work for an implementation. Which is a bummer, because we were going to watch her favorite American Idol hottie on some talk show--but it will be on after bedtime, so I'll have to miss it. Maybe she'll tape it, and we'll watch another time.



I'm already belting coffee just to stay awake now. I'm so tired lately.

I went and did some shopping after Spouse left for work this afternoon. I went to the drugstore to get a new crossword book, and ended up getting a bottle of L'Air Du Temps, a new neck pillow to help me sleep better, and new toothbrush. My Spinbrush is shot. I decided to try the Oral-B this time, and no, not for that!

The upshot being--I managed to spend $65.00 without even trying. (Oh, well. It being the third paycheck falling in September, I had no insurance deductions,and my check was a little fatter today.)

And I popped into the bead store to look for rounds for my double diamond pattern. The young woman who works there convinced me to get green jasper (ooohh, so pretty) and rose quartz. So I'd already commited to spending more than I'd planned (I was looking for glass, not gemstones), but then she pointed out that if I spent another dollar, I'd get another sticker on my frequent buyer card. In looking for a way to spend another dollar, I managed to spend another eleven. Oh, well. I filled my card, so next time I have a big purchase, I'll get 15% off.

I just hope the drill on the jasper is big enough to accommodate multiple passes with the needle and thread! I have a problem with some of the gemstone beads I get--they have a very finly drilled hole.

If it ends up I can't use them for this, I'll just use them on something else. Beads are never wasted.



I'm much less cranky-feeling today, and didn't pick any fights with Spouse. How could I, on the 22nd anniversary of our first date? I just gave him some nuzzles, and told him I loved him, and remembered to thank him for the efforts he's been making towards keeping the house clean. I really do appreciate that, and I have no problem letting him know how much.


I can't believe how little time I have these days for reading. When I update the "reading" portion down below, I'm absolutely embarassed by how many days the same books occupy that spot.

I used to read seven to ten books a week; now I'm lucky if I finish two. I just have had so many things going on--it seems like there is never enough time to do everything I want to do--or want done.

There is a distinction there. Seems like there's more and more in my life that I want dealt with, without having any great desire to deal with them.

And the greatest of these is housework, of course.

And it's not like I'm not reading--so many wonderful writers here on this old 'net, and I'm always adding to my collection. I've gotten to the point where I even have to choose between which of my regular blogs I read on a given day--can't cover them all. So much cool stuff in life, but still the same old 24 hours in a day.



Since I have to go in tomorrow, and it is scarcely worth a 60-mile drive just to work for an hour or so, I am planning on hitting the gym before I come home.

And since it is Saturday--and a certain raven-furred princess KNOWS it's Saturday, I'll have to put in at least a mile before I even leave for work. So it will be a very good workout day.



Reading: �Complicated Shadows: The Life and Music of Elvis Costello� by Graeme Thomson, and �Malice Domestic 1�, edited by Ellis Peters

Listening: The Drive, �Deep Tracks�. Steely Dan, Elton John, Supertramp, Todd Rundrgren.

Beading: Double Diamond choker, in green jasper and light gold, silver-lined seed beads.

One Year Ago, I was missing my sweetie.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com