rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















at least the gym went well
September 29, 2005, 6:20 P.M.

Strange things afoot in Diaryland. After I posted yesterday, I went to edit it and my edit/ delete page had NO entries on it. I was able to see my post, though.

Today, I went to edit it and my edit/ delete page had all entries BUT that one on it. I was still able to see my post, though.

I posted a test entry to see if my 9/28 entry and the test entry would then show up on the edit/delete page. The test entry did, twice. Still no sign of 9/28.

I deleted BOTH test entries. At that point, I lost the test entry, AND my 9/28 entry page no longer came up when I hit the �current� link.

I also checked the archives, and found that, for some odd reason, four old entries from Jan/Feb had drifted on to my �recent� page. And I can still access the original 9/28 post from the archive page.

Very, very strange. But�whatever. I had kept the draft of yesterday�s entry, and reposted it. Re-filed the archives. And things seem to be more or less normal now.



This is probably all part of the larger �technology hates me� issue I�m having lately. Remote controls that go haywire, electric toothbrushes that die suddenly, check engine lights that come on and won�t go off, flashlights that crap out, one after the freaking other�and that�s just today. Honestly, I think I�m being gaslighted by my gadgets.

The idiot light on the car is the most worrying. I�m following the information in the owner�s manual, which assures me that it is drivable. These days, anything from a loose gas cap to a blown head gasket is indicated by the same little light, so I keep checking the temp & oil pressure, and listening to it, and hoping I don�t get stranded. I�ll have to take it for service tomorrow after work. I may drive his car in the morning, since I�ll be home before he has to leave.



I�ve complained about odors at work before, but I have to say�today may have been the worst ever. My department, the hall, the stairwell�I couldn�t get away from it. It was beyond belief!

It smelled like someone had tried to put out a tire fire.

With cat piss.

The worst part? I think it was coming from the cafeteria.



Spouse is returning to third shift again, which I think I�ve probably already mentioned leads to divorce-quality abuse and neglect. I�m pretty goddamned pissed about it.

And since he�s going to be available next Friday evening, he is now beginning to try and go all control-freaky on the plans I made for my (okay, our) birthday. Again.

Niece and Nephew and I were planning on grabbing some dinner at Old Country Buffet, and attending the opening night of �Wallace & Gromit: Curse of the Were-Rabbit�. Quick, easy, convenient, something for everybody, and not too expensive.

He starts whining about how �he wants to go where he can get a steak on HIS birthday.�

Well, you know what? Nobody said you couldn�t, dickwad. Just like nobody invited you to go to dinner. You were never included in my plans, because I didn�t expect you to be around. In fact, the whole point of making the plans was to ensure that I didn�t spend yet another birthday at home, all alone. If you want a steak, go get one! You�re free and over 21�it�s your birthday--do whatever you want.

Unfortunately, we all know what he wants. Again.



I have to assemble a portable gas grill. I hope I�m up to the task. I know W, and I know that if I don�t turn over her gift in fully assembled, turn-key operation, move-in condition�it will be sitting there months from now, still in its box, cluttering up the corner of her dining room.

I even bought her a 2-pack of propane tanks. I want her to be able to light a match and break out the weenies. And I need it assembled and wrapped for tomorrow night. So I�d better get my ass to doing it.

(I prefer to gift her on the very day, as it suits the sense of precision and symmetry we share.)


GYM REPORT:

32.30 minutes

1.81 miles

233 calories

Yeah! More like it! I felt much better today, and if I�d had the time, I could have easily gone on awhile.

It�s so weird. It seems like there are just some days where my body just cannot do well at all�and even though I�m really struggling on those days, I can�t get my heart rate up. Then, on days like today, when I feel like I can go forever--I have to watch that it doesn�t go too far up.

I hate my body. (Not what it looks like, just what a pain in the patootie it always manages to be.)



Reading: �Complicated Shadows: The Life and Music of Elvis Costello� by Graeme Thomson, and �Malice Domestic 1�, edited by Ellis Peters

Listening: XM, �Fred�. R.E.M., B-52s, O.M.D.�I�ll take cryptic band names for $1000, Alex.

Beading: currently inactive

One Year Ago, I was keepin� it short.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com