rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















the return of the high-maintenance house-hubby
August 24, 2005, 12:11 P.M.

I took the day off today, to run Spouse through the medical gauntlet. He has mucho anxiety with the whole hospital and doctor thing. So much so that he actually had to leave work early, as the dread was making him physically ill. So what does the poking, prodding, and testing reveal? Well�

The good news? No hernia. The bad news? ((I EDITED THIS PART OUT BECAUSE SPOUSE REQUESTED PRIVACY)) They told him to stay off his feet and off of work till next Monday. (Well, that isn�t exactly great news for me�I can�t keep up with his messes as it is! Not to mention the fact that I am once again shut out of the comfortable bed, dammit.)



Speaking of the messes�work in that area is proceeding apace, and in furtherance of my stated goals, I just plunked down $20 for a genuine, commercial-grade, extra-long Ostrich-feather duster. All the experts tell me this is the way to go when dusting. I can�t believe I actually found one in this town! I love our Ace Hardware, because they have every good cleaning product known to man. But I didn�t think they would have this. I should have known better.

My room is coming along. I washed the curtains and the bedtable cover last night, and once I get done with the dust and dirt removal in there, I�ll wash all the bedding, too, and put it all back fresh and nice. An advantage of having him off work is that I will be able to run the vacuum in the evenings, and not have to observe the �rule of silence�. That should make for much more efficiency in the process.

Today, I want to spend some time to finish the de-cluttering and chucking-out part, and then I will start on serious dust removal. But I can already see that I will be able to get this accomplished, and that always feels good.

Did I mention the dividends? So far, I�ve found several items I have been missing, and some that I haven�t missed, but I�m sure glad to have �back�. New shoes? Yep�I picked up an old dusty shoebox to throw it away, and found it to contain a brand new pair of saddle-brown leather tasseled loafers. With the tags still on them! It�s like Christmas! I still haven�t found my missing diamond earring though. I�ve got my fingers crossed on that one.

For my 15-minute clean-and-shine today, I took on the cooktop area. I scrubbed the wall, polished up all the trivets and the spice rack and assorted tchotchkes, and made the whole thing sparkle. I also took a quick run around the carpets with the vacuum and shook the throw rugs.

I tell ya, I�m really staring to notice a difference, after only a few days. Hopefully, I will get to a point where it will all be maintenance cleaning, and I won�t have to work so hard. But I don�t want to get lazy and spoil it all by not keeping it going.



Since I have some time today, I�m staging a library raid, and maybe a bead store run as well. So I�m out of here.


GYM REPORT:

40 minutes

1.70 miles

175 calories
Distance and calories are approximate. I�m home today, so I took Raji and we went for a mega-walk workout.


Reading: "Social Crimes", by Jane Stanton Hitchcock

Listening: XM Radio, �Fred�. �BBC in Concert: The Pixies�

Beading: "Officially thinking about beading at this time".


One Year Ago, I was really trying to work the diet.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com