rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















jewelry and lasagna
Monday, Aug. 01, 2005, 3:40 PM

Well, when he finally got home yesterday, we ran to do the grocery shopping and then came home to relax. After I put away the supplies, I did run over to the bead store. Once I got home, I was able to do the assembly on the double-strand bracelet in about an hour. Which was good, since I let him talk me into making lasagna for dinner, which takes about an hour of prep, plus an hour of bake time, plus a shitload of work.

The bracelet came out wonderfully, by the way, and I just love it. Even though I couldn�t get exactly the right spacer bars, and had to use three-holers instead of two-holers. It�s very elegant and dressy, but I wore it to work just to show it off.

I�m having another beading freak-out in preparation for next week�s one-handedness, just like last time. But what the hey�I�m enjoying it!

I�m going to jump in and get going on the next (bracelet) project tonight. I�ve got some beautiful, peach-toned firepolish with an AB finish, and I want to mix those with some clear crystal firepolish in a RAW pattern, and then overbead using #11 pale peach pearlescent seeds, and accent the center of each square with pale peach Swars bi-cones. It should be very shimmery and pretty and girly.



At least I don�t have to come up with a dinner idea tonight. When you ask for lasagna once, you always get it twice! At least. But if you didn�t, it would be way too much work to make it. So leftovers, a salad, breadsticks, and I�m set. It�s always better the second day.

I made a dandy, too. Four cups of Mozzarella, one and a half pounds of premium ground sirloin, half a pound of real, authentic Italian sausage�and real 100% Durham Semolina in the noodles. A girl has her standards, after all.

Standards that are fairly hard to keep to sometimes. I made the mistake of trying to find ground round or ground sirloin at the grocery store yesterday�Whoops! Not when they are getting ready for the first of the month! The cases were stuffed full of the low-buck, low-quality ghetto meat for the welfare/food stamp crowd.

I had to make a special side-trip to the butcher�s to get what I needed. Just as well, I guess. We got all the meat for the week, top quality, for about $14.00. Why do I forget that? Time to start going to the butcher shop every week again.



I feel like I�m getting a cold, and good grief, I hope not. All I need it to go from period to bad cold to surgery. Bleah! Here�s hoping it�s just my allergies.


Well, I guess the earliest I�ll find out about my promotion is Wednesday�my boss is OOT till then, and I�m left hanging. I just hope I get it. And that if I do, the damn thing is retroactive back to June, when I was supposed to get it.

Work isn�t really any better, but I�m really trying to be a great leader and teacher to our problem person, if for no other reason than to well and truly cover my own ass and give her no one to blame for her failures. Plus, a PMA will allegedly make me feel better. I don�t really know about that, but I don�t want to be closed-minded, so I�m giving it a shot.




Reading: �NIV : The Authorized Biography of David Niven�, by Graham Lord.


Listening: XM �Fred��Cocteau Twins, Jon Astley, U2

Beading: Finished the double-strand bracelet. Next up�a bracelet in peach and crystal (color), right angle weave with over-beading, using seed beads, Czech Firepolish, and Swarovski Crystals. Similar to the yellow and green one I did for my mom, for Mother�s Day.


One Year Ago, no post.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com