rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















but it's silicone! and tangerine!
Tuesday, Jul. 26, 2005, 6:17 PM

People can be so annoying. Dankegott, there�s none around.

One absent teammate. One boss out of the office for the day. One teammate left early due to family illness. And me.

I suppose I�m not one to talk, because I did take yesterday afternoon off to get my stitches out and schedule my next surgery. But it is still annoying to find they�ve all got somewhere else to be.

The absent teammate is an ongoing issue that we seem to be unable to resolve. She arrives late, leaves early, disappears from her desk for hours at a time, or just plain doesn�t show up (and I�m pretty sure she�s fudging her timecard, too). But I am expected to make all allowances for her, educate her, hold her hand, and give her responsibility.

By direct order of my boss, we conferred upon her two projects to be responsible for. One is due today, one by Friday. So, after she cried to the boss, and we gave her the work she demanded�who is testing it? And who stayed home?



Almost every week, someone at work has a �book� party of some sort�Tupperware, Partylites, Home Interiors, etc. Or someone is selling pizzas, or wrapping paper, or cookie dough for their kids. And I just pretty much ignore it all, because I�m bulletproof. When it comes to sales resistance, I�m Supergirl.

But Pampered Chef is my kryptonite.

I�ve been searching for a �non-stick safe� whisk and tongs for two years, to no avail. And guess who has them? On page 17?

I love their stuff, and I never pass up an opportunity to get some of it, but I also never have enough spare cash to get everything I want. So I am currently wrestling with the devil, trying to decide what all I want, and how much I can afford.

Damn devil and his tangerine-colored $10 silicone spatulas. Tempting me and shit.



For years, Spouse has been oblivious to much of what I do around the house, because I do it between 7 and 10 on a weeknight. He has always been A) Out of town, B) At work, or C) In bed, asleep.

Well, his current schedule has changed all that, and he is in the process of gaining an education about his wife�s habits. In the last couple of weeks, he has been jaw-droppingly amazed to find out that his life-partner can be found doing any number of zany things at 9:00 pm. So far, he�s �caught me�: cleaning out cupboards, folding laundry, shining shoes, brushing the dog, mending a pair of slacks, sorting the recycling, shaving my legs, re-alphabetizing the DVDs, and de-liming the showerhead.

And every time, he�s just as astounded as the time before. He just can�t get his head around the concept of doing chores in the evening. On a weeknight. When no one is holding a gun to your head.

Or maybe he�s just having to deal with having all his illusions blown, by finding out that it wasn�t actually a pack of elves doing this stuff, after we were in bed.




Reading: "The Tenacity of the Cockroach: Conversations with Entertainment's Most Enduring Outsiders ", from The Onion A.V. Club. Edited by Stephen Thompson. �NIV : The Authorized Biography of David Niven�, by Graham Lord. �Slapstick�, by Kurt Vonnegut

Listening: XM �On Broadway�. A trio of hooker songs, from �Tenderloin�, �Best Little Whorehouse in Texas�, and �Pal Joey�

Beading: Who am I kidding?


One Year Ago, I wasn�t having any fun.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com