rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















allsorts
Thursday, Jul. 21, 2005, 5:47 PM

I can test software deeply, intensely, and thoroughly, for, hours, and finish feeling invigorated and energized.

�Team Building� and Team Management�, however, test me.

And I�m feeling sorely tested today.

Goddam it, if I need to be super-fucking-boss over there, is it too much to ask that somebody actually GIVE ME THE BLOODY JOB?



What is a team? by whyme63:

A team is a group of people I�m forced to be with, all of whom depend on me for everything.

A team is a group of people I�m forced to be with, none of whom can be depended on by me for anything.

A team is a group of people I�m forced to be with, that accomplishes nothing unless I drag them kicking and screaming through every inch of the process.

A team is a group of people I�m forced to be with, that is always ready to step in and take the credit, should my work on their behalf garner praise.

A team is a group of people I�m forced to be with, that is always ready to step in and place the blame on me, should my work on their behalf draw scorn.



It�s TTTKMD. Which used to stand for Trucks Trying To Kill Me Day�but which I have decided to broaden to Traffic�s Trying To Kill Me Day. I encounter more tailgating, cut-offs, and just plain whacko drivers on Thursdays than any other day of the week, in addition to an increase in semi traffic. I always feel lucky to have survived my commute on Thursdays.


In an attempt to broaden my horizons and try something new this morning, I tuned into the XM Radio channel 75, �Hear Music�. This is actually the music they pipe into all the Starbucks. Meh. Maybe you need to be revved up on espresso to appreciate it.

I suppose there are two kinds of people�

Those who find it reassuring and comforting that there are over 9,000 separate locations in 35 countries where they can walk into a store, order the same thing, and listen to the same music, as all the people all in the other locations.

And the rest of us. Who find that absolutely horrifying.



I guess my work computer is completely fried�they replaced it today. Bionic style. Better, stronger, faster. Now I have to get the damn thing customized, though. That�s a pain.


yesd�y--and the day before:

We finally had a real gully-washer about noon yesterday, and it left a reasonable amount of water behind. The gutters work!

I was way too busy and/or wiped out to post yesterday. I worked my hands off all day, went to the chiro, the gas station, and the grocery store after work, came home and made Sloppy Joes, fries, and a salad for dinner, and then collapsed in the recliner and passed out.

I woke up in time to kiss Spouse goodbye on his way out the door, and stumble off to bed. Must have been the low-pressure front that brought the storms, or something.

And I had so wanted to write that I had a most lovely and pleasant surprise Tuesday evening�my brother and his family appeared on my doorstep for a little visit!

This is the same brother I wrote about here.
But we seem to be getting along better these days. They were up on their annual visit, and it was wonderful to see them all. The oldest of my 14-year-old nephews is driving now! He has his learners permit, and because of his grades, how close he lives to the school, and his score on the driving test, he has a �school permit.� Which means he can drive himself to school. Gah!

My wonderful, gorgeous, and amazing Niece is heavily into shopping at the moment. And guess what�she�s a bag junkie, just like her old Auntie! Coach, Dooney and Burke, etc.

I love those kids.




Reading: "Wicked", by Gregory Maguire,
"Making Time:Lillian Moller Gilbreth, A Life Beyond Cheaper by the Dozen", by Jane Lancaster,
�Practical Magic�, by Alice Hoffman.

Listening: XM Radio, �Fred�. Midnight Oil, Pseudo Echo, The Clash.

Beading: Another Goddess necklace, this one in a black/ pearl/grey seed mix, with crystal and onyx firepolish. Yeah, I�ll get back to it one of these days�


One Year Ago� I didn�t post.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com