rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















underachiever's Saturday
Sunday, Jul. 17, 2005, 8:35 AM

A hot and steamy Sunday, and I'm glad to be in the air conditioned house.

Yesterday was kind of funny. Spouse picked up Niece on his way home from work in the morning, with the plan of taking her to the air show in Milwaukee. Bit since neither of them was feeling very motivated, they took naps instead, and just hung around the house all morning . Niece and I watched "The Incredibles" while Spouse continued to sleep, and once he got up, we went to lunch.

We had some bad news about Nephew this week--he apparently is having problems with his blood pressure. It will prevent him from going out for football this year, and he's pretty disappointed about it. Plus, he has to go on a strict diet, and give up red meat almost completely. This is guaranteed sorrow for a 14-year-old boy.

Niece isn't too thrilled, either, because her mom decided that everyone is going to start eating right around their house, and there will be no more snacking and junk food. Therefore, when we asked her what she wanted for lunch, Niece informed us that she wanted red meat and fatty food and lots of it, as "one last fling" before going on the family diet.

So we took her to Golden Corral. She pigged out on steak, and macaroni and cheese, and brownies and ice cream, and she drank over a quart of milk.

And five minutes after we left, she began to moan and turn green. We had to pull the car over so she could throw it all up. Well, 12-year-olds do have to do everything the hard way.

She felt better after that episode, and we took her shoe shopping, but she couldn't find what she was looking for. So we went to the video store to get a movie (They picked "Mr. 3000") and came home for more chilling out.

She was angling to stay all night, but her Uncle pointed out that her Aunt would have to drive her home in the morning--which she couldn't do, because of her hand. So Niece took it philosophically, and after the movie was over, we ran her back home. It gave me a chance to see Nephew, and their gigantic yellow lab, who is still technically a puppy, and very lovable. And who climbed in the passenger door of our car, wriggled between the seats, and settled into the back expecting a ride. What a goofy and adorable galoot he is.

After we got back to town, we stopped at the Wing Stop and picked up some dinner, then came home to pretty much crash. Spouse ate, and without further ado (he'd only gotten a couple hours of napping), he collapsed into bed.

I propped my arm up on a pillow, and proceeded to doze my way through "Cold Case Files". After walking the dog, I gave up and went to bed a little before ten. And slept like the dead until Spouse woke me up to say goodbye as he left for work at seven.



I need to get some work done around here, I guess. Can't really put it off. Laundry, because I'm out of shorts (and bras!), and dishes, because the sink is overflowing, and the bathing of me, which is a complicated proposition, and takes nearly an hour. Spouse is probably only working a half-day, so he'll call when he's on his way home. He wants to go grocery shopping, which is another chore that needs doing.


I tried very hard to avoid overusing my hands the last couple of days, and they are feeling a bit better. I confess that I wriggled out of my bandage this morning, just for a minute, and oh, my god, did that ever feel good! But I put it right back on, because I do know that it's there for a reason. Still, what a relief to have it off briefly. This thing is driving me crazy. I hope he puts a smaller bandage on it tomorrow.



Reading: "Wicked", by Gregory Maguire,
"Making Time:Lillian Moller Gilbreth, A Life Beyond Cheaper by the Dozen", by Jane Lancaster.

Listening: Nothing at the moment.

Beading: Another Goddess necklace, this one in a black/ pearl/grey seed mix, with crystal and onyx firepolish.


One Year Ago, I was happily vacuuming.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com