rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















@#&* codeine
Monday, Jul. 11, 2005, 10:38 PM

Well, I need to keep this short, as I can only type with one hand, but I wanted to post tonight. The surgery went well; I was home by 11:30 am and the pain is pretty low-key.

I've got pain meds, but all they ever give me is that damned Tylenol-3. Codeine isn't much good to me--it makes me irritable as all fuck and constipates me to boot. And since I'm paying an arm and a leg for the privilege of shitting, I really don't want to sabotage that with the codeine.

I have to schedule a follow-up visit for next week, but I already know that there is a big improvement. When Dr. B told me I'd notice a big improvement, I was skeptical, but he was right. The numbness and the tingling that I've had for years in my right fingers is gone. It's pretty frickin' amazing.

I wish I could say that Spouse is being supportive. I'm sure he thinks he is. But the truth is, he is being kind of a disappointment there. On the very day of surgery, I had to make dinner, rinse the dishes, and take the dog for her evening walk. His idea of being helpful was to stick a pan of meat into the oven, and to tell the dog "you behave" when I took her out. That's it. And he's probably still patting himself on the back for it.

Well, my left hand is tired and a little numb, so I guess that's a wrap.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com