rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















phone, physical, and other bellyaches
March 05, 2018, 7:45 P.M.

So as soon as I decide I'm going to keep my phone a while longer (I've had it since August of '14--it's getting up there), and order a ring light for picture-taking and a new cover and another popsocket...

...the damned thing starts acting up on me.

It started rejecting my storage micro-SD. I kept getting messages that said the card had been ejected, or that it was corrupted. After re-seating it in the slot several times, with no resolution, I took it out, popped it into the adapter and slid it into my laptop, but there were no issues with the card or data that I could find, so I put it back in the phone--with the same result. Well, shit. At least I know the card is fine and I didn't lose any data.

So I took it to the Smartphone Repair center on Saturday, paid $20.00 to have them look at it, and all they could tell me was that it wasn't my phone, it was DEFINITELY my SD card. They were very nice, and waived futher charges, and I thought I had the answer (despite the fact that the card was okay in other devices, the tech told me their test card had no issues so it had to be my card causing the problem.

Fair enough--he's the expert. So I went across the parking lot to the Office Max, bought a new card took it home, and inserted it into my phone.

And had just exactly the same problem all over again.

Can you say Oh, SHIT? At least I got the new one on sale, and we can always use it in the camera. But I think I need to find a different repair shop.


Here's another bellyache: Spouse's employer sent him to Minneapolis for training. On his days off. When a horrible winter storm is bearing down on the Twin Cities. And he's going by car. Well, at least he works for a company who doesn't expect him to front all the travel costs, then file for reimbursement. And they had the foresight to rent him an SUV with AWD. He left mid-day today, from work, and hopefully he will be home Wednesday night. Normally that little Spouse-free interlude would pump me up, but since it puts a lot of strain on the pooch, and what with the sending him into a horrible storm and all, I am mostly just anxious.(EDIT: he just called--6:15--to let me know he got there. Sounds like the last part of the trip was Hellish.)
Had my physical last week; on Thursday. Weird going in and not seeing--or hearing--the Doc. But the PA is cool, and I got out of having a PAP, so it went pretty good. (Didn't get out of another mammogram, though. I have to go for that on the 23rd.) I brought up the problem of not being able to sleep through the night, and he recommended trying Melatonin, because he didn't think the Rx or OTC sleep aids worked for sleep maintenance very well. (I didn't want to take those, anyway) So I picked up a bottle on Saturday when I did my shopping.

I tell you one thing--that shit makes you DREAM. I have had LOTS of vivid dreams the last couple of nights, which according to what I can Google, is more a result of Melatonin giving you more REM sleep, thus more dreams, rather than the stuff directly causing them. Not sure why I am remembering them so well, but whatever. I still woke up as before, but the PA said the stuff needs to build in your system over time, so give it a couple weeks, at least. I was able to fall back asleep, and it felt like the sleep I did get was way better than I've been getting, so I am willing to keep going on it.

That's the good news. Here's the bad:
The doctor tells you "Lose weight and exercise, and your blood pressure & cholesterol will go down."
One year later; you've lost over 50 pounds, and you're exercising every day: "Congratulations! Your blood pressure & cholesterol went UP!"

Here's the kicker--neither one was high before, but now they both are! SONOFABITCH.
Let's see--what else can I bellyache about? Well, it turns out that the shop where I need to take my WORK pants to be shortened is only open when I'm actually AT WORK. Not sure how I'm going to swing that. And I never did get any info back from the vet's office concerning that package of procedures for B. And I had the horrible, hideous awful day from hell at work today. That's nothing new, actually, but it is still ache-worthy.
On a different note, I called my dad earlier; he's doing well. Recovering nicely from his surgery, but chafing a bit over having to take it easy. He was getting ready to watch the boy's basketball team from my hometown play in the Iowa state tournament. I guess it is televised, and available where he lives.

He also informed me that my great-nephew took second at HIS state tournament (wrestling) for his age group/weight class.

PLUS, my nephew N, who is the younger brother of Oldest Nephew, and also a basketball coach, is going to State with his boy's basketball team!

So you see what a dizzying lot of jocks there are in my family. And while I am very proud of each and every one of these kids who excel in their areas, there is no denying that I am and always will be the black sheep of the family because I really can't give a shit about sports.
Oops! One more bellyache. It is snowing its ass off here now!

Fuck it, I'm going to stay home tomorrow and take a mental health day. I haven't called in in six months. They can't screw me over too bad.




Reading: "What Will People Say?" (1914), by Rupert Hughes. I just started this, and I can't tell if I've read it before, or if it is just very much like other things I've read. So far the main character (I assume he's the main character, anyway) is a judgemental dick, and I'm not sure if I like him. And I'm not out of chapter three yet, so this could be a problem!


Listening: The Cars, Brent Dennen, The Cranberries, Vance Joy

Inked Up: Pelikan Stola III inked with Waterman Tender Purple, Hero 616 with J. Herbin Larmes de Cassis, and Bexley 10th Anniversary with Pilot Iroshizuku Momiji. The Conklin is still on vacation, but I broke out a Pilot Varsity because I need a black ink pen today, and this way I didn't have to ink anybody up. I'm rather enjoying it--I'm always pleasantly surprised by how enjoyable the Varsity pens can be to write with.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com