rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















throbbin' noggin
March 06, 2017

I have to do two jobs this week; covering for a vacationing co-worker in addition to carrying my own load. And I have a shrieking headache. So I'll have to keep this fairly short.It's either a migraine, or the start of a sinus infection--too early to tell which

Friday, I stopped at Meijer on the way home and picked up a few health and beauty items I needed, and was seized by the sudden urge to dye my hair. So I picked up a bottle of some new L'oreal stuff that promised "layered color" "highlight effects", superior grey coverage, and a medium golden brown color.

Well, it made good on one out of four. It covered my stubborn white hair pretty well. Better than most. But the color looks pretty flat and one-dimensional. And BROWN. Very, very brown.

Still better than the 70 percent bone-white I've been rocking lately.

We ran out on Friday and picked up a pizza for dinner, and came home.


I think we were both in the mood for a quiet weekend, and we really didn't have plans beyond the minimum errand-runng. But we had breakfast at the Corner Bakery (we just got one), and Spouse decided he wanted to go to the L. L. Bean store at the outlet mall. So we drove out there--only to find out that they didn't HAVE an L. L. Bean store at the outlet mall. I have no clue why Spouse thought they did, but I had assumed he knew what he was talking about.

Well, the reason he wanted to go there was because he thought we needed to get waterproof windbreakers for our cruise. And since he has been mentioning the Duluth Trading Company store in Hoffman Estates lately, I turned to him and asked what we had going on that would prevent us from just running down there? He quickly agreed, so we filled up the Impala and headed out. As we drove south and east, we got warmer temps and sunny skies, so it was worth the trip just for that.

The store was very nice, but I was QUITE disappointed to learn that their rather new women's section did not extend to plus sizes, as the menswear does. Apparently, the "2X" is about an 18. I say quite disappointed, because I thought they has some awesome stuff.

Still, I have no problem wearing a man's raincoat--even the women's are too long in the sleeves, so why limit myself? And I found one that fit beautifully, and was the exact shade of blue I was picturing in my mind's eye. Spouse got a black one just like it. And he found two polo shirts and a teeshirt, as well. All on sale, to boot.

We popped into Cabela's, since it was just next door, but they had nothing for me, either. So we headed back to Ktown to do the weekly shopping at Meijer and a qick run at Costco, before kind of hitting a wall and giving up and going home.

I was not a good dieter this weekend; I ate very poorly, and too much. I need to figure out how I can do better Friday-Sunday.

After we got everything put away, we chilled out for the rest of the day. I napped a little, then got up at five and made dinner: meatball bombers and crispy crowns (like I said, I didn't eat wisely).
Sunday morning, we had a fend for yourself breakfast. He made oatmeal, I had toast, coffee and grapefruit. After doing some housecleaning and getting washed and dressed, we ran over to Fresh Thyme to finish the shopping, washed the car, and came back home.

Frankly, other than a little laundry, I was just lazy all afternoon, with my nose in a book. And Spouse was too. We cooperated on the dinner pot roast; I peeled veggies and he loaded up the pressure cooker with the assembled ingredients. Came out lovely! We ate fairly early, and I had everything cleaned up by 6:00. I finished my book, and we spent the evening poking about on our tablets and getting ready for Monday.



Reading: I was mucking about in my "slush pile" of unread e-books on Sunday, looking for my next book. I filled in the weekend with a re-read of "The Blue Castle", but needed something "new". I found a Juliet Wilbor Tompkins I'd overlooked, called "Joanna Builds a Nest" (1920). Melody at Redeeming Qualities had reviewed it back in 2015, and it sounds like it will be pretty good--can't think how I overlooked it. I only got a couple of chapters in on Sunday, but I already really like the title character.

Listening: Assorted Jann Arden off my Walkman, and--because of "Unloved"--Jackson Brown, "Running on Empty"

Inked Up: Still these guys: The Retro 51 Tornado, refilled with Iroshizuku Kon-Peki, the Conklin Duragraph cleaned out and reunited with its soulmate, Pelikan Brilliant Brown, the Duke filled with Diamine Claret, and the Waterman Kultur, loaded with a long cartridge of Waterman Serenity Blue.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com