rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















weekend runaround
February 21, 2017

I finally did it on Friday. I stopped at Menard's and bought myself the microwave. Took it home, and made it a nice place to live, downstairs on the top shelf of my storage unit. set it up, set the clock, and put it to work heating up some lunch. And then, turned around and made an experiment; I baked a chocolate cake in it! It came out quite well, too.

So my Friday afternoon was going very well...until.

As I was putting away some laundry prior to taking a nap with the B, who walks in the door? Spouse. He had suddenly decided to take the afternoon off. (Evidently he doesn't get dinged for that sort of thing, like I do nowadays.) Ugh. There went my weekly "me" time.

We did all try for a nap, but for me, it clearly wasn't meant to be, because I had no sooner dozed off than my phone rang--it was my doctor's office. They got a refill request from Costco on my Rx, and were calling to let me know that they wouldn't be refilling until I came in for my physical. Sooo...I made the appointment. I have to go in Tuesday afternoon. I really didn't enjoy being scolded by a nurse who sounded like an adolescent Munchkin, but I took my lecture, made the appointment, and made sure they were going to call in an interim Rx for my thyroid meds.

After that, it was clear I was wide awake, so I took up the laundry chores again. We had plans for Saturday, so I needed to get the week's wash done around that. Then I read for a bit, while Spouse & B got their nap in.

We had decided on Chinese food for dinner, and were looking for something new to try, so I suggested the place that had opened over by the Walgreen's. Your basic strip-mall Asian restaurant, but they have sushi and some other Japanese items as well. Definitely worth trying out, because their fried rice was, by far, the best I've ever had in this town. I had the teriyaki-style hibachi chicken with stir-fry vegetables, and it was all head and shoulders above the usual Asian fare you get in Ktown.

After dinner, we ran over to the tax lady and signed our returns so she could get them filed. We are getting a nice refund, between state & fed. Just big enough to make us feel like we got a windfall, without being so big that we feel like we need to adjust the witholding.

And once we got home from taking care of that, we tried my experimental cake. For a cake baked in a 32 oz Pyrex measuring cup, by microwave--it was a teensy bit dry--but pretty good! It went particularly well with the low-fat organic vanilla ice cream we bought at Fresh Thyme the previous week.


Saturday, as I said--we had plans. Spouse really wanted to go to the Western 'burbs (just for a change, lol--like he doesn't do that 5 days a week!) to the New Balance store, to get a real fitting for shoes that actually FIT his ridiculously difficult feet. (size 13/EEEE, and absolutely NO arch). I wasn't too enthused, because even though I sometimes have trouble getting shoes that fit, I really have no problem getting NB shoes that fit perfectly, as long as I stick to a 9D in a running shoe.

Knowing I wasn't overly excited about the journey, he did a little research and dangled a carrot: he found a pen store. I have been resolute in my refusal to buy any new pens before the Chicago Pen Show in May, but as long as he was dangling, I was jumping.

So we got up and going early, stopping at the KwikTrip to gas up and wash the Impala, and to get some coffee. The we hit the road for Mt. Prospect & the New Balance Store. After a short detour so Spouse could show me where he works, we got there just as they opened.

It isn't a very big store, but we were the only cutomers the guy had, so we got prompt--and exceptionally good--service. Spouse went first, and the guy took his size and then had him get on this electronic sensor pad that threw an image of his footprints up on a screen, showing what his foot issues are. Based on that, and what previous NB models Spouse mentioned he liked, the guy pulled a couple of styles and Spouse tried them. He found one he really liked, then the guy pulled two styles of upgraded insoles out, and that was when Spouse really lit up. He tried them both, but it was clear from his first step that he was in love with the motion-control insoles. He was transformed--I've never seen him so excited about a shoe. He had to order his, though, since he wanted them in black for work, and all they had in his size was the white.

Then it was my turn, and--big shock--when the shoe guy measured my my foot, I was a perfect, textbook 9 wide. When I got on the sensor, it also confirmed what I already knew--I have issues with supination that cause my feet, knees, and even my hips to hurt. So once I tried on the pair I'd picked out, he tried me with a couple of the upgraded insole styles. I tried the ones Spouse loved, but since I didn't need the same arch support, I didn't think those were right. So I went with the pressure-relief ones because they seemed to help straighten my foot and ankle. The pair I picked were the New Balance 940v3 running shoes. that's a stability shoe, and although they are supposed to be for over-pronators, I really found them to be supportive for a suppination as well--especially with the special insoles. They are a relatively quiet-looking shoe, too--medium grey with coral-pink trim.

Well, the bottom line was not cheap. We spent $368.00 for two pair of shoes & two pair of specialty insoles. But for once, we really felt like we were getting what we paid for. The service was amazing, the fitting was excellent, and we got the real NB's--the quality level is obvious when compared to the big box or Zappo's Newbies.

Once we were done there, we did some other shopping, of course. The Executive Essentials store was kind of folded into Irv's Luggage, but they still have a decent pen counter. I looked at several pens, but I was trying to stay on budget, so I picked a Retro 51 Tornado, white nickel finish with rose-gold colored furniture. Medium nib, and it writes like buttah. (I inked it up with Kon-Peki after I gave it a cleaning, and it is gorgeous to write with.) I kept it under $60, so I consider it a win.

We also stopped at Valli Produce for some fruit (strawberries and juice oranges), veggies (lettuce, cukes, potatoes, tomatoes), and some imported pasta (linguine and orzo). And at Wally's Polish Market, so I could run in and get a fresh supply of my favorite teas. Then we drove over to Elmwood Park for a BBQ lunch at Russell's before taking a cruise through Spouse's old neighborhood on the way back to Kenosha.

Once we got back to town, we stopped and got some quick shopping in at Meijer--mostly because we needed milk and dog food. Then home, about 2:30 or so. We rested a while, and since we'd done ribs for lunch, we just had tuna salad for dinner and went to bed fairly early.

That was a really long, busy day; I don't know what got into us! Must have been the bizarre weather; we have been enjoying several days of gorgeousness. Temps into the 60s (and flirting with the 70s!), blue skies, and bright sunshine. Considering that this is the first time I've had to spend the third week of February in Wisconsin since 2014, I really cannot complain. We are having more clement weather than Arizona and California! AZ is having cool temps, rain, and even fog, and Cali is getting rain. (I won't say we have better weather, because they need that pretty badly.)

On Sunday, we got up and puttered for a while. I made fresh-squeezed OJ while Spouse and B took his car for gas and a wash, then I went to town scrubbing down the bathroom, which was due for a thorough, top-to-bottom scouring. Once I got done there, Spouse made a quick breakfast for us, and after we ate, I washed dishes & cleaned the kitchen while he took out the trash and ran the vacuum around. I set up a load of laundry on delay, and then we got cleaned up and went to Costco for a few things, filled my car back up, and stopped at Fresh Thyme to check out the sales. Didn't buy much--didn't NEED much. But I am planning on making myself a white bean cassoulet in the pressure cooker (I stowed a lovely chunk of the last ham we made in the freezer, especially for that purpose) and I wanted to get the beans.

Of course, Spouse won't touch such a dish. And I can't eat a whole cassoulet up by myself...unless, of course, I freeze and vac-seal individual servings for consumtion at a later date. So that is my plan; now that I can re-heat these kinds of things in my MICROWAVE, I can make this kind of thing again! Been craving this all winter.

But that was for next Friday...sorry! Got sidetraked there. So after FT, we went home and spent a quiet day. I played with my pens, Spouse fiddled with the cars, and I think we both read for a while. He took a nap, but I stayed awake and wrapped up the wash. We had an early dinner, because we wanted to grill while it was light out. Grilled Tbone steak, baked potato, and salad, and we finished the cake (it was a little one, just four servings).

So that was my very busy, rather more spendy than I had anticipated weekend.
Monday was a misery, though. I woke up at two and couldn't get back to sleep, when the alarm went off, so did my guts--and I paid for that weekend of culinary debauchery with a nasty case of the trots. Still had to go to work, though! The good new on that front is, we seem to have broken through a particular log jam with a certain vendor, so things are actually proceeding again. I was exhausted by then end of the day, though. I made a cheater meal of Chunky soup over rice for dinner, but Spouse loves it so no complaints from him. Crashed early, and hard.

Tuesday was a bit better, I got a reasonable night's sleep and though it was a long day, it was fairly productive, only slightly frustrating, and I made chicken tacos for dinner which were, frankly, da bomb. Crashed early again, and slept like death. Too good, really, since I nearly slept through my alarm, and had the kind of bizarre dreams I get when I am fathoms deep. (Strange, politically infused dreams about a Trumpian dystopia. I distinctly recall that in one of them, my brother very matter of factly tried to murder me because I didn't vote for Trump.) So I woke up stupid-drowsy and dragging ass.

Had a food day for a work birthday today. I took a warm queso dip in my little dip pot. Nobody like it. Waste of $8.74 and my time. Eff it. I hate trying to be nice. It's always a kick in the teeth.

Tonight was linguine with meat sauce and garlic bread. Zero imagination, too many carbs, but to be honest, I really hate having to be the one who does all the weeknight cooking and dishwashing, and as long as I make an effort to throw hot food on the table, he's happy. So I cook things he likes, that I don't have to think much about, and that don't require days worth of clean-up.

Well, this was a very long post, and I am ready for bed. 'bye.

Reading: "A Presumption of Death" (2002), By Jill Paton Walsh & Dorothy L. Sayers, and "Shot With Crimson" (1918), by George Barr McCutcheon (heavy-handed plotting, turgid prose and WWI German espionage)

Listening: Since the Impala has an aux jack, I'm finally getting some use out of the Walkman I got for my 20th anniversary at work. I have been working on loading it up, and am currently enjoying my umpteenth re-listen of the "Rent" OCR.

Inked Up: Conklin Duragraph/R&K Solferino, Sheaffer Javelin/Monteverde Burgundy, and my newest, the Retro 51 Tornado with Iroshizuku Kon-Peki.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com