rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















what's to say?
June 22, 2015

On Sunday, the 14th, we went to LV (we had a decent flight, with an empty seat between us--eventually, after a 3-hour delay at MKE!), took a limo to the hotel, stayed at the Venetian (the Venezia, actually--a subtle distinction), had a marvelous suite with a marvelous view, ate well (Bouchon, Grand Luxe, Grimaldi's, Mario Batali's Otto), did a BOATLOAD of walking, developed nasty blisters between the toes on my left foot, gambled a bit (Blechh--so boring! so smoky!), saw a terrific show (Frank: The Man, The Music), took a gondola ride, enjoyed a lot of pool time (without getting burned!), got in some wonderful siestas, met up with one of my childhood friends, did some shopping, (Spouse bought me two gorgeous rings at the T.I.). On Thursday, we took another limo to McCarran, bought some Ethel M chocolates, and flew home. Mostly very restful and relaxing.


I gotta say, though--I'm still having a hard time with managing this kind of stuff without anxiety driving me--I barely managed to get packed sensibly! I think my brain can no longer distinguish between anxious panic and reasonable concern. If we aren't freaking out, then the old grey cells think there is nothing they need to do!
On Friday, I got up and started on the less than fun task of unpacking and doing the laundry. Spouse went to the the vet to pick up the B, then I got cleaned up and went to the dentist, where I got the unpleasant news that I have three more new cavities! Turns out that it is my anti-depressant that causes the dry mouth and increased bruxism I've been having, and that, in turn, causes accelerated tooth decay. So I have another dental appointment in July for fillings, an increased brushing schedule, and prescription toothpaste at thirteen bucks a pop. And I'm supposed to cultivate a sugarless gum habit to help alleviate the dry mouth.

After I got home from the dentist, we went to the new Costco and did some shopping. Came home, put everything away, and relaxed for a while, in between laundry loads. Spouse grilled chops and made oven-roasted red potatoes, I tossed a salad, and we had a lovely dinner.
On Saturday, Spouse got up early and ran to the store for some danish to go with our coffee, and we puttered around the house awhile in the morning. He mowed the front yard, I changed all the sheets and washed the dirties. Then we got cleaned up and met Niece at the Costco to take her shopping. Spouse picked up the tab--to the tune of $448.00!! She got a ton of groceries, a half-tank of gas, a new coffee-maker, a rug, 2 power-strips, and food and litter for her kitten. (Boy, I wish I had a godfather!) She had her planned room-mate back out on her, so she's carrying the house rent all by herself until she can get somebody else lined up. Spouse decided it would be a good idea to lend her a hand.

But hey--she made me a birdhouse for my garden! How sweet was that?

And it isn't like she buys crap--she's a trained cook, and her grocery shopping was all healthy, real ingredients for cooking at home. Fresh veggies, poultry, fish--her one indulgense was a bag of potato chips. I've gotten to the point where I'd rather spend it on the kids than dump it in a slot machine.

Once we got home from that and a few other errands, we both a lie-down. Spouse made grilled chicken skewers with basmati rice for dinner, and I chipped in my usual contribution--another salad. After dinner, Spouse went out to Culvers and brought home mini-mixers, and we sat down and did some online shopping for a new wheeled cooler to use for going to Ravinia. Once we'd decided on one, Spouse surprised me by adding an additional item to the Amazon order--a Skilcraft fountain pen for me! What a sweetie. It isn't an expensive one, but from all accounts it is a very good one. And he researched it and picked it out just for me--that means a lot.

Of course, I had been promising myself a pen purchase after we were done with vacation (as sort of a dangling carrot for getting through the whole thing). And I wasn't going to let the fact that HE bought me one stop me from having my fun. So took the plunge on my first "vintage" pen. Although they were never very expensive pens, Sheaffer "No-Nonsense" pens have been dear to my heart since the seventies, and I found one on ebay for a buy-it-now of $24.99. "New old-stock", and in MAGENTA, yet. Well, of course I bought it!

And then I turned around and went to Goulet Pens, to get Sheaffer cartridges for it. And a converter for it. And an ink sampler with 8 different magenta inks. And a converter for the Skilcraft.

Believe me, I could have kept going, but I stopped there. For now.
Anyway--on Sunday, Spouse made a lovely breakfast--charcoal-grilled hamsteak, homefries, eggs, and toast. Fantastic. Then I did the dishes, a load of towels, and some housecleaning, before getting dressed and running to the hardware store for a couple of things. Came home and tended my flowers for a while, then puttered around the house until dinner. Another "grill and greens" dinner: I made yet another salad, and Spouse baked some potatoes in the convection oven, and we split a lovely T-bone steak off the charcoal.

After dinner, I got back into harness and did all my usual prep for morning, then watched the latest episode of "Mock the Week" on YouTube, before brushing my teeth with Prevident Rx toothpaste and going to bed. (Gag. I can spit, but I am not supposed to rinse. Bleah, that is so gross.) Reading:
"Old-Dad" (1919), by Eleanor Hallowell Abbott and “Ever After” (1913), by Juliet Wilbor Tompkins Listening:
Death Cab for Cutie, Supertramp, Ray LaMontagne, Fitz & the Tantrums

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com