rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















ever had a headache so bad you couldn't figure out what kind of headache it was?
March 9, 2015

I still don't know whether it was a sinus problem, migraine, or pinched nerve, (maybe a combination?) but last week was pretty painful, and by Thursday I gave up and stayed in bed. For two days. My head hurt so bad I couldn't stand it anymore, and whatever it was, it disrupted the vision in my right eye to the point where I didn't consider it safe to drive. Ugh. I have pills that helped with the pain, but again--not safe to drive, as they make me quite drowsy.

The problem with a headache like that is it is incredibly boring (I got a ton of sleep, though, thanks to the pain pills.) Can't read, play games, watch TV, or do much of anything for very long. I managed to putter around a little bit, though. Made myself some cheddar and herb biscuits from scratch, off the top of my head, for lunch on Thursday. I was hungry and bored, and playing make-do in the kitchen. We didn't have too much in the way of snacky foods, so after inspecting the pantry, I concocted a simple drop biscuit dough, and pepped it up with some extra-sharp cheddar, garlic, rosemary, parsely, and chives.
_______________________
Cheddar & Herb Drop Biscuits
1 cup all purpose flour
1 and one half teaspoons baking powder
1 quarter teaspoon salt
1 quarter cup olive-canola oil blend
1 half cup milk
1 half cup shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese
1 half teaspoon garlic powder
1 and one half teaspoons chopped fresh rosemary
1 half teaspoon freeze dried parsley
1 teaspoon freeze dried chopped chives

Combine dry ingredients in mixing bowl and stir till well blended. Add oil and milk, stir till well moistened. Stir in herbs and cheese. Drop onto parchment lined baking sheet and bake in 450 degree oven for 15 minutes or until light golden brown. Serve hot. Makes 6 generous biscuits.
_______________________
These baked up beautifully, and were moist and savory, light inside and slightly crispy on the bottom. Not bad for something completely make-do and impromptu!

You could change these up if you wanted...I just used what was on hand. The fresh rosemary was left over from Spouse's Sunday dinner extravaganza. I used Kraft Cracker Barrel extra-sharp cheddar because I had a block I needed to use up, and the oil blend is one we use for everyday cooking purposes. Straight EVOO would probably work well too. I thought about using the bacon-infused olive oil we have, but decided that would be too much.

Anyway --that's the kind of (very tasty) thing that happens around here when I'm left to my own devices. And the basic biscuit dough came out so well, I made another batch on Friday, but used a touch of sugar, some cake spice, and straight canola oil in this version. This batch went atop a pan of blackberries for cobbler. That and the laundry were all I ended up getting done on Friday, but that's better than nothing, I guess. Spouse and I threw together a quick dinner of penne marinara, salad, and garlic toast for dinner, since neither of us felt like going out. I think in some bizarre way it pleased him to have a meatless Friday during Lent.

That cobbler was my last hurrah, I guess--Heading into the self-denial season now. I have biometric screening in April and a vacation in June; I need to be ready.


By Saturday, the headache was finally subsiding, so after we finished a quick round of housework, Spouse and I went out for breakfast and shopping, and to keep our appointment with the travel agent. Finally got Spouse locked down on a hotel--The Venetian. They had a good deal, with a free upgrade to a suite, and we went for it. Signed, sealed, paid and done. And, we stopped at the bank so I could put a grand in my safe deposit box, where he can't get at it. :)

I was pretty fagged out by the time we were done with all the errands, so I had a lie-down which turned into a nap. And was awakened by my phone...my dad was calling.

To tell me he'd bought a mobile home in Phoenix. At the same trailer park that was my aunt & uncle's first residence when the moved to Phoenix in the early sixties! It's a "55+ Manufactured Home Community" these days, and it sounds like he found a place to fit his style, budget, and other requirements.

I think he called me mainly because he was looking for some reassurance that he was doing the right thing--he mentioned he was feeling a little bit of the old cold feet. No worries--I was effusive in my approval. Sounds like my oldest brother was pretty supportive, too, when Dad spoke to him. Don't blame him--he was terrified that he'd end up with a bored and lonesome parent constantly on his doorstep if Daddy ended up moving back to Iowa. That would have been pretty painful.

After a nice chat with Daddy, I went in the kitchen and started prep for an early dinner, since the day's 40-degree temps inspired Spouse to cook on the grill and have a summer-style meal. We had grilled Polish sausage, deli salads, fresh sweet corn, and iced tea. Fresh strawberries over angelfood cake for dessert. And boy, it was yum.
I guess all the extra sleep I'd been getting finally caught up with me, because I couldn't fall asleep to save my life Saturday night. Of all nights--the one where I lose an hour anyway! And I had to be up at a reasonable time, too. We went out for a late breakfast with Nephew and his wife, had a nice visit, but too short. Then Spouse and I ran out to the outlet mall, to look for new swim trunks for him. Found a great pair of basic black trunks, a nice cotton print sports shirt, and a pair of NB sneakers for him, all for $149. Not to shabby--quick, relatively painless, and reasonable in price!

I stopped in at Yankee Candle, and scored a dozen tarts, a box of tealights for my bathroom holder, and a large candle for $24 bucks--which is like getting the tarts and tealights for free! I tried my luck at the shoe store, too, since I want a pair of deck shoes for summer. No luck--not one single pair in my size.. Oh, well. Sizes are tricky at the outlet shops.

Once I gave up on the shoes, we came home so Spouse could get started wrecking dinner. As good as he is in the kitchen, he has never been able to cook--or carve--a corned beef brisket. Not for love or money. He CANNOT get it through his head that it should go 8-10 hours in the slow-cooker, not a mere four. And for some reason, he took it into his head to ruin the vegetables, as well--he cooked the whole mess in beer! Well, after having the whole house stunk up like a brewery all afternoon, I don't ever want to hear a word out of him about how we can't have cabbage because it stinks too much. I crashed again in the afternoon, since I hadn't slept well the night before. I read, napped, read some more, and finally, reluctantly, came out to face my next meal.

So dinner: Sour, bitter, inedibly tough corned beef, and sour, bitter, skunky potatoes and carrots. Bleah. I took as little as I could get away with, pleading that it was too rich for me to risk overdoing it. And a good portion of that of that ended up going to B, since he didn't seem to have a problem with the veggies. (Even he didn't want the meat, though. He chewed it a little, then spat it on the floor.)

Unfortunately, what I avoid one day has to be faced the next. There was so much left, we have to eat it.
Reading: "A Prairie Courtship" (1910), by Harold Bindloss. Alison, a young woman brought up in some luxury, is forced to make her own way in the world after her father dies. (She's not an orphan, but she has a pushy, social climbing mother and sister, and if she doesn't want to get married off, she's pretty much on her own.) After a few years of ever-crappier secretarial jobs, she decides to emigrate to Canada, where she meets up with an itinerant peddlar of suspiciously good breeding and education, and things start to get interesting.

Listening: "New Faces of 1952" OCR. Specifically, Robert Clary and Eartha Kitt.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com