rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















striking a spark
October 03, 2014

So. I joined SparkPeople. Heard so much good feedback, a lot of people swearing it saved their life, etc. I was expecting a lot, I guess. Maybe too much?

First thing I noticed is that their website is a tension-inducing nightmare. Not really as place I want to be when I'm already stressed out, but if it's free, you know you are going to get annoying ads that pop up when you pass the cursor over, annoying flash crap, and other spazzy distractions.

Second thing is they pester you to death with emails, which is probably going to--hell, it already is--annoy the bejabbers out of me.

Third thing is, I have a really hard time with navigating the site.

I know it sounds like excuses, but most people have no idea how distracting that can be for somebody who has done as much user acceptance testing as I have. Bad design really gets under my skin and drives me crazy. Simple design is fine, I would rather use something streamlined and easy with relatively few features (I'm still on Diaryland after a decade, after all.) than something loaded with features that is a logistical nightmare. I need things to flow, I guess, and not chunk up on me.

But I am going to try to utilize it and get myself on track. Doc C. told me to explore online options for weight and fitness management, so I told him I would try. And frankly, as unappealing as SP is, it beats the heck out of others I looked at.

Website or no website, I am trying two things today that have helped kick-start me in the past: fasting (well, a mini-fast, as I have a dinner engagement this evening) and the start of a two-week candy abstinence. Small goal--no candy for two weeks. Just candy, but all candy. Sugarless gum the only exception. Small, simple goal. I have no candy available, I pledge not to buy any, and I can do this. I've done it before.

Also, I am (mentally) chanting my mantra of "perfection is the enemy of good enough". Or maybe I'm just trying to redefine my definition of perfection. I've been reading a bit about the ventilatory threshold, and I think that I need to define perfect, not as "DO ALL THE EXERCISES!", but as "figure out the exact amount of tolerance you have, and start there." I'm pretty sure I have a low threshold, because of the experiences I've had in the past with trying to do more than fifteen or twenty minutes at a time and getting the waves of overwheming anger and sadness come on like a bucket of water over my head. I have the same trouble in non-workout activities too, I've noticed. I've always had the problem that when I have to do a lot of house-cleaning in a short time, I start screaming and bitching out loud and even crying.

I always figured it was just some kind of emotional reaction to the fact that my parents were the "put your head down and push" type, just muscling their way through everything. Now, it turns out that it has a physiological component. My "power-putter" style of getting stuff done is way easier to apply to housework than to exercise, unfortunately.

Of course, I am also trying to overcome the conditioned response that comes of getting a prompt and thorough cosmic smackdown every time I start to take myself in hand. (For an example of this, look up my entry for February 12th, 2007--and the one immediately following.) I actually mentioned that to the doctor at my physical, and he looked at me and said "you just answered a hundred questions at once with that". He didn't have any solutions for me, though. Naturally.


Abrupt subject change: I did something the other day I haven't done in years--I wrote parody lyrics to a song. W and I used to do that at work to help the time pass and work off frustrations, but as I say--I haven't done one in years. This one was spurred by the thought that I was feeling droopy. Which rhymed itself in my head with feeling' groovy. And a half an hour later, I had this--
"The Ready to Jump off the 59th St. Bridge Song"

I'm down, not moving too fast, In a race where I'm out-classed and Face-down on the cobblestones... Tired of life and Feelin' Droooopy...

(Bah, bah, hum-bug...Feelin' Droopy!)

Hello mattress... What cha knowin'? My discontent with life is growin' I think bed's the place for me... Ass is draggin'...Feelin' Droopy

I've got stuff to do And promises to keep But I'm dreary and done-in and ready for sleep Let the weary world go on its way without me... Life's a burden; go without me...

Reading: "Dig Here!" (1937), by Gladys Allen As far as I can tell--I just started it--this is about a couple of boarding school girls who go to spend the summer in Maine with an eccentric spinster aunt, and have some adventures. I presume from the title that some sort of treasure is involved.

Listening: Lorde, Paloma Faith, Jasmine Thompson, Rox, Lana Del Rey, Gabrielle Aplin


At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com