rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















08-02-12 briefs
August 02, 2012

Spouse is looking for another job, as it seems this one went very sour very quickly, and as I informed him: "I refuse to let them kill you". After spraining his back and taking 4 days off with a doctor's note, they gave him the gold standard of bad management speeches: the "You must not want to work here". Seems "work here" in that sentence equals "live here", I guess. He said he kept his trap shut, did the smile & nod, and came home and applied for eight jobs. He'll just keep putting up with it until they can him, or he finds another job--or until he blows up, but he doesn't do that like he used to. They are going to lose most of the few maintenance guys they have. Idiots. I'm losing respect for the Germans.

It took a bit of doing and a number of emails, but I shared all the pictures I took over the weekend with Auntie. She seemed to be glad to get them, according to her email response. And she kindly acknowledged the card I sent her week before last. I can't explain exactly what there is about her last few emails, but it seems like there is just no oomph in her. Breaks my heart...

I am besieged by aches and pains today--I hurt quite literally from the top of my head to the tips of my toes, and there isn't much in between that isn't raising a fuss. I was hoping this was an omen indicating rain, but no such luck, I guess.

Isn't stopping me from doing a little some fresh fruit management, though. I got some peaches at the Pig on Tuesday, on sale, large, perfectly ripe-yet-firm, and the flavor was insane. So I went back yesterday and got more, and came home and made a delicious cobbler. And went back today and got MORE, because DAMN these are great peaches.

But. What do you do when you don't know when you'll have time to make jam, but the perfectly gorgeous peaches are on sale for $1.99/lb. TODAY? Fresh peaches don't hang around long, and especially at that price.

Well, peel, slice, and freeze them until it is jam-making day, I guess. I've got a freezer full of cookie sheets, covered in peach slices. I hope this works. Keeping my fingers crossed. I make jam out of frozen berries, plus peaches freeze well, so I can't see why this won't work.

Gah. I need a haircut, but with $225 to last me the next eight days, and needing to cover a tank of gas, a dental appointment, and a chiro visit in between, plus at least two of my meds needing refilling, means suffering this long hair until the tenth, at the earliest. I hate being poor. Spouse was off most of last week for his back, and we dropped a wad on the Iowa trips, so I'm a wee bit brokey. I'd be totally busted if I hadn't cashed in our spare change to cover the dog's board bill.




Reading:"Carter Girls' Mysterious Neighbors" (1921), by Nell Speed. In addition to the racism being waaaaaaayyy more "in your face" than usual, we also have some pre-WWI zenophobia going on in this one, because the mysterious neighbors of the title are quite possibly--gasp--Germans! I'm sure it is going to turn out to be justified, because HEY! WWI! but as a German-American, it always rankles.

and "The Enchanted Barn" (1917), by Grace Livingston Hill Lutz While theistic (even evangelical) religion is still very much present (I only counted thirty "gods" in it, but I forgot to look for "church", "prayer", "vespers", "sabbath", ''hymn", etc. ), and I swear this author was monomaniacal about "keeping the Sabbath"--this one is much less godbaggy and very sweet. The mother is the only character that bugs me, really. She's a semi-invalid, anxiety-ridden to the point where her children go out of there way to shield her from the world, a reverse-snob who thinks the very worst of anyone (especially any man) who may possibly interested in her daughters, and, needless to say...she's the head godbag.

Listening: The Airborne Toxic Event, Arcade Fire, The La's, Talking Heads, Mumford & Sons

Surfing: .

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com