rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















unfiltered
May 07, 2012

Spouse has gone back to work at the plant where he was before the recession. Same job, same boss, same building, and in some cases the same machines--but now he's working for the Germans instead of the Japanese. (I know--it'll be the Italians next!)

Which means that he's working again.

I have been pretty sure for a while now that he had somehow blown the job at the plastics plant. If I couldn't recognize the signs by now, I'd be pretty pathetic.

I don't know the whole story, because after all these years and all these scenes...I don't even ask. Why bother to even bring it up? I don't effing care anymore. Of this much I am certain--the story he gave me about "changing jobs" is incomplete, at best. That's being charitable. But he will always prefer lying to me to telling me the truth.

The truly weird and incomprehensible thing,is that it isn't the fact that he cannot or will not hold down a job that infuriates me.

Truly--whatever. I accepted that fact decades ago. I've tried to make it clear that I can live with it. I've shouldered my burden, for better or worse. I've buried myself in work I can't stand in order to keep us solvent and reasonably stable.

No, what infuriates me is the lying. The hiding, the pretending, the two-faced bullshit. THAT is what makes me feel worse every time he does it. THAT is what makes me want to give up and walk away.

Because it means he doesn't care about me when he repeatedly does it. It means he thinks I'm stupid when he repeatedly thinks he's getting away with it. Because it means he IS stupid, and I cannot love a stupid man. Because it means he's another goddamned pathological deciever. Like my dad. Like his mother. Like his brothers. Telling lies purely for the sake of telling lies, and even when the truth would better serve them.


Enough about that. What other news do I have this week? Well, my mom has decided that her knee has gotten so bad that she would rather play Russian Roulette and have the surgery than keep living in pain. I understand. Don't like it, but I understand. She needs to take some kind of action to try and change things--even if there is a big risk involved. That's my mom.

She will be getting her knee replaced on the 21st. I took a couple of days off because I figured I should be with her and Dad--at least one of us kids should be, and it ain't gonna be one of the boys, that's for sure. Anyway, who knows if it will happen, anyway. She's got to hold the rest of her shit together and stay healthy till then, or they won't do it. And in her precarious state, that's in no way a lock.
The Weekend: Stormy weather. My dad joined Facebook. Leaky basement. Grocery shopping. A rare White Castle lunch. Began a cleanout of the linen closet (only got 1.5 shelves done, but threw away a whole garbage bag of stuff). made a full breakfast on Sunday, including squeezing the OJ myself.. Spouse made a maple-bourbon roasted pork loin, "rustic" mashed potatoes, and some peas for Sunday dinner (was very good). And in between, we tried a can of poppin'-fresh style soft pretzels we found at Aldi. They were okay, but a PITA to make. I didn't do any real baking; just thawed and frosted part two of last week's baking. And the afore-mentioned pretzels.
I don't know what to do with me--I'm such a miserable mess. I don't see friends or family anymore, I don't do anything constructive or useful or good for society, I don't care about anything. Life is too short to be this effing pointless...and life is too LONG to be this effing pointless.


Reading: "Partners of the Tide" (1905), by Joseph Crosby Lincoln. Back to JCL for the moment. Also, I just finished "The Common Law" (1911), by Robert W. Chambers. I'm not in a good enough mood to write about the bad mood this book put me in.

Listening: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers, The Civil Wars, Florence & The Machine...and some Grateful Dead song I've never heard before, which was uncharacteristically, but blessedly, brief.

Surfing: .

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com