rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















quickies
March 23, 2012

Spouse came home from his follow-up visit to the doctor (blood pressure) on Tuesday, with the news that he'd lowered his pressure 35 points, but it still sucks, and with a prescription for Ambien. Sleeping pills? Yeah...his doctor is a pill dispenser. For his guy patients, that is. For women, of course, it's a patronizing pat on the hand and "it's all in your head". Sexist pig.

Anyway, it seems to be helping Spouse. The last two mornings, he's been up and around well before I leave for work--and what's more, he's been downright perky! He is back to doing chores when he comes home from work, too, thank goodness. And the doc told him that the lack of sleep may be what's keeping his blood pressure up higher than desired. So I guess they really were what he needed. Hell, with the way I've been sleeping, I may give them a try myself.


Let's see... have I mentioned lately that I hate my job? 'Cause I surely do. My projects are all stuck, because the I did my job, and the next move is with the programmers--and has been for frigging MONTHS. They never fix the bugs! If something fails to happen in the test process because of an error or omission of mine, they raise 31 flavors of Hell, but bugs I referred in JANUARY have yet to be addressed. Grrr.
This summer in March weather we're having has kickstarted all the trees and fowers to bloom, leaving me with some serious allergy misery. But on the other hand, it's doing wonders for my skin--especially my hands & nails. It's amazing how quickly they go to hell in cold weather, and how they can improve just as quickly once the weather warms up. Plus, I broke my "no petroleum products" rule about creams and lotions and bought Lubriderm Advanced Therapy this time, instead of my ususal (C You Through the Dry Spell, from Yes to Carrots). I needed moisturizer last week, and Sam's had a pack with two huge bottles and a travel tube of the Lubriderm, all for only about a dollar more than I pay for one small jar of the Yes to Carrots body butter. And since Spouse needed a good hand cream as well (the place he works uses a degreasing soap that ruins his hands)...well--why not? It won't hurt for once, especially going into summer. It seems to be working, anyway. Once in the morning, and I don't itch all day. Like I said, for that price, it'll do.
I finally wore down my tame electrician, and he's goign to be installing a new light in my laundry area. I've been making do with a dim and blinking, dying fluorescent for almost two years now, and I put my foot down. If I'm cleaning the basement and getting a new dryer, I want a new light installed. It isn't like they are expensive--under fifteen bucks for new fixture & bulbs. It's getting them installed that's the killer--the old, old story. The cobbler's children have no shoes.

So he's doing that tonight, along with disconnecting the old dryer and removing the power cord. I want to run to the hardware store and get a new vent kit, so he can hook the new one up right when it gets here tomorrow--no sense in putting a linty old tube on a brand new dryer.


Reading: Hobby: Just went all-out and downloaded a whole basketful of Joseph Crosby Lincoln books; everything left at Project Gutenberg (that I hadn't already read) and everything they had for free at Google Books. Currently reading "Fair Harbor" (1922), and "Cap'n Warren's Wards" (1911). "Fair Harbor" is about a sea captain who is broke, and recuperating from a disabling train wreck. Interestingly, it seems what actually crushed his legs in the wreck was a fat woman landing on them! (I'm no lightweight by any means, but I've landed on people once or twice, and didn't cripple them!) He moves in with an old shipmate, and finds he is living next door to a home for the female relatives of deceased mariners. Next thing he knows, he's acting as trustee for the ladies home, and falling for the young woman who runs it.

"Cap'n Warren's Wards" concerns a Yankee sea captain--a warm, friendly, intelligent man (if a bit rough) who "inherits" his long-estranged younger brother's son and daughter--two spoiled 5th Avenue snobs in their late teens. Since he comes from the country and "talks sailor", they naturally are mortified by the sudden appearance of the uncle they never even knew they had. Everyone seems to think the deceased dad was off his chump to have made his Cape Codder brother trustee, but I have a feeling the point is that Uncle Elisha was chosen to pilot them away from the rocks and sharks of their Manhattan society, and teach them how to sail their own ship.

Listening: Cowboy Junkies, Supertramp, Snow Patrol, Foster the People

Surfing: .

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com