rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















tepid. maybe even chilly.
November 23, 2011, 6:55 P.M.

I am thankful.
I am. There is a lot I'm thankful for.
But it is just very, very hard this year. Everything feels so grim and tight and uncertain and doomed, you know?

I thought I'd passively let myself out of the card exchange this year by missing the deadline, but then Weetabix extended it, so I have to decide after all. Honestly, I just feel like I'm not up to it, and I know I can't afford it. But I do feel like I've "let the team down" by wanting to opt out this year.

I know Spouse seemed very concerned when I said I thought it was going to be a "zero observance" year, but that's probably just anxiety about the cookie situation. He needn't worry--there will be SOME cookies. Probably not a lot, but some. And I guess I already passed the zero thing anyway, with the fruitcake and the Merry Mix CD for Auntie. Which he forced on me.

I really do dread Christmas so much. On the religious side, it's a celebration in a religion I don't belong to, of a god I don't believe in. And on the secular side, I feel like it's all other people's expectations, without the right to expect anything back. When I do manage to marshall my energy and focus, and pull off something approximating a traditional observance of the holiday, it is because I can get over the "not expecting anything back" part and make it all about others. I try to think of it like this: to �enjoy� something means to put joy into it, rather than to get joy out of it. But I just can't pull that off every single year. Maybe 1 out of 4 or 5. Christmas should be like elections and Olympics--every 4 years.

Is there a certain irony in the statement "All I want for Christmas is for there not to be one"?


Enough. Change the subject. Talked to spouse a little bit ago; he had been on the phone with Auntie and wanted to let me know that my letter to Uncle got there this afternoon. Spouse asked if she had seen the Thanksgiving card we sent, since she'd been in Tucson for a few days. She hadn't. It is surmised that Uncle pounced on it and squirreled it away in his usual way. He has a mania about personal mail and thinks it is all his private property, even if it is addressed to both of them. She stated that she will go hunting for it. I'm just hoping they actually GOT it--I always worry about sending cards. I'm afraid they go astray too easily.

Reading:Enjoying Mary Roberts Rinehart's Letitia (Tish) Carberry stories. I was able to find free versions online for the first three volumes in the series: "The Amazing Adventures of Letitia Carberry" (1911), "Tish; The Chronicle of Her Escapades and Excursions" (1916), and "More Tish" (1921). The first is a "read online only" from Google Books, but the other two are downloadable from Project Gutenberg. The madcap adventures--and I'm talking adventures--of a trio of middle-aged spinsters led by impetuous, headstrong Tish. Narrated by Lizzie, one of the three, the stories have comedy, mystery, adventure, and a strong streak of proto-feminism that makes them quite a rollicking read.

Listening: With Spouse out of the house, I have been able to enjoy more music at home this week. Currently, I'm enamored of the "Broadway Showstoppers" channel on Pandora, which has been treating me to gems like cuts from the Mame OCR, and lots & lots of Sondheim.

Surfing:

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com