rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















capitulation
October 25, 2011, 5:25 P.M.

I finally decided, at the rather advanced age of 48, that I should go to the doctor when I have bronchitis. I was actually fighting the idea, as usual, but a couple of people whose opinions I respect were pretty insistent that I quit screwing around and get to the Dr. already.

And I'm seriously getting too old to bull my way through these infections. I just don't have the energy for the sleepless nights anymore, for one thing.

Plus, when I really thought about it, I realized that the main thing I have spent the few decades dreading about a bronchitis visit has been the whole smoking thing.

Which is, as of today, is a whole nine months removed from being an issue!

So I called the office and got an appointment with Janet the NP. It was at 2:30, which got me out of the office early. But since the two people I mentioned above are MY boss, and HER boss, it wasn't a big deal.

The verdict was, of course,bronchitis. Secondary bacterial infection following an upper respiratory infection. Ten days of antibiotics and a bottle of codeine-based cough syrup--which I promptly took too much of, because I can't read the damn label. But it works for a cough, which is a helluva lot more than it does for pain. At least when you double the dosage, anyway! Whoo! Think I'll go to bed, as soon as I feed the dog!



Reading:Hobby--currently, "Romance Island" (1906), by Zona Gale. Finished "The Story of Julia Page" (1915) by Kathleen Norris over the weekend. Finally! It was rather long and drawn out, and I absolutely hated the ending. I feel like Kathleen Norris really let me down. Who knows, maybe that ending was forced on her by some asshole editor. It sure didn't ring true to her style at all.

Listening:Mumford & Sons, Widespread Panic, Bob Marley & the Wailers

Surfing: You ever just go to Wikipedia and hit the random article button until something piques your interest? You ever just go to Wikipedia and hit the random article button until you give up because nothingpiques your interest? (also: bronchitis).

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com