rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















squicky
August 24, 2011

I hate when my boss appreciates me. It's creepy. I went into my mid-year (yeah, a leeetle behind schedule, there) review conference and she handed me a thank you note with a gift card in it (B&N, $20.00). Kinda gave her hand away on the review with that one though, didn't she?

She'll send me "back-pat" emails sometimes, too. I never manage to read all the way through them, since they seriously do creep me out. The instant I get to the point where I know what it is, my brain shuts down and I am physically incapable or reading further.



Reading:Hobby--"Secret History Revealed By Lady Peggy O'Malley" (1915), by C. N. and A. M. Williamson. Still haven't finished this; I got sidetracked by the two below. And it's heavier than I figured it would be, considering everything else of theirs I've read. I'll get back to it, though.

Also, "From the Valley of the Missing" (1911), by Grace Miller White. I don't even know how to describe this story--I discovered it through a blurb in the back of another old book I was reading, but the description falls fall short of the actual story: "Two beautiful children are kidnapped from a wealthy home and appear many years after, showing the effects of a deep, malicious scheme behind their disappearance."

I will just say that the book is pretty dark and grim--it features some of the most repellent villains I've ever come across in fiction of the era. Oh, and there ends up being a lot more than two children involved. It's like a Chinese fire-drill of parenting in this one. Also--the author seems to favor nature over nurture when it comes to the formation of personality. I found it on PG, complete with photo-illustrations from the "photoplay". I imagine that this one would make one HECK of a hand-wringing melodrama; I would love to see it pop up when TCM does their silent movie features.

General--"Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim" (2004); a collection of 22 autobiographical essays by humorist David Sedaris. I actually found something appealing and available to read on the library download site. Usually, all they have is books on how to pass the ACTs and tweenie vampire crap. Everything else is totally lame, or checked out. I read this when it came out, but it's a good re-read.

Listening: Dr. John, RHCP, U2, The Decembrists

Surfing: Funny Fliers.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com