rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















another holiday endured
December 27, 2010

Things I was happy to get for Christmas:
E-reader
--Amazon gift card
--Barnes & Noble gift card
--New slow-cooker
--Texas Roadhouse gift card
--Iowa Hawkeyes sweatshirt

Things I was okay with getting for Christmas:
--New computer
--Frango Mints
--Fannie May Pixies
--Picture frames

Things I could have lived without getting for Christmas:
--My period
--The giant ball of sorrow my mom hit me with on the morning of the 24th
--The twelve inches of lake effect snow that got dumped on me Christmas night

It was a very quick four-day weekend, I'll say that...just seemed to whiz by. Each of those days was meh, though. Thursday, Spouse made me get up and go out because he wanted to go do some shopping. Friday, he made me get up and go out because we had to pick up his pie. Saturday, he made me get up and go out because we had to run out to Wheatland for gifting. Sunday, I had no choice but to get up and go out because we had to move all that goddammed snow--and then get cleaned up and go to P&E's for gift-giving, and then take them out for brunch at the botanical gardens. So my favorite part of time off--the "lounging in jammies all morning" thing--I didn't get to enjoy at all.

Friday was the worst. My parents are dealing with some big issues concerning Brissie, their dog (who was formerly my late brother's (dog...so...yeah). Bris is sick, they can't figure out what's wrong with her, and she might die. And knowing that I am the one person in the family who understands what she's going through, she also knows she can call and let out all of what she's feeling.

And I'm okay with that, really. I'm pleased that I can be that person for my mom. I'm just saying--it takes its toll on me. I was in pretty bad shape for the rest of the day. And it's not like I'm in very good emotional shape to start with, on the second day of my period.


Anyway. The good news on Friday was Spouse's final grade for technical writing got posted. And he got an A-minus! He was stunned. That's pretty much an unheard-of grade from that teacher, so he was over the moon with joy and disbelief.

We had a decent Christmas day, I guess. After we got home from taking the kids their presents, we just sat around and relaxed. I installed some games on my new notebook, so I played some Scrabble and Cubis, farted around on FarmVille, and just took it easy. Spouse was doing pretty much the same. Later in the afternoon, we started the dinner preparations.

Spouse concocted a special glaze for the ham, I tried something new with the corn pudding, but we did our usual for the sweet potatoes and the biscuits (the "usual" being the America's Test Kitchen sweet potatoes recipe, and Pillsbury's frozen southern-style biscuits!) We ate about 4:45, and I have to say that Spouse has always baked a good ham, but this one was the best ever--by miles.

Yesterday's dinner was very nice, too--Bartalotta's catering at the Botanical Gardens was superb. Lots of lovely delicacies, decent booze, excellent service, live professional carolers, and of course, the always-pleasant company of P and E made it quite delightful. Still, I was glad to get home, climb into my sweats, and chill out. I was achy and pretty much exhausted after the morning's "dig-out work-out", so I ended up taking a long nap under the electric blanket, with The B snuggled up next to me. When I got up about 5:30, I really didn't accomplish much. Played on the computer for a while, then got my shit together for Monday morning. Ate a ham sandwich. Went to bed at 9:00, with the dog and my book. End of weekend. Made it past another Christmas.

Reading: Hobby--"Kitty Canary" (1913) and "How It Happened" (1914), by Kate Langley Bosher

General--e-book re-read of an old Agatha Christie novel, "At Bertram's Hotel". A Miss Marple from the mid-sixties; it isn't terribly mysterious, or true vintage Christie, but it's still a half-way decent read.

Surfing: Just cruising around Amazon, deciding how to spend my gift cert.

Listening: U2 ("Angel of Harlem"), Pearl Jam ("I'm Still Alive), Weezer (I Want You To), Santana ("Smooth"), Spin Doctors ("Just Go Ahead Now"), Bruce Springsteen ("The Fever")

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com