rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















close to home
December 13, 2010

A pretty quiet weekend for us; the weather being dreadful, we didn't stray far from the home place. Friday was uneventful; I came home from work and didn't budge for the rest of the day, and Spouse did the school & back run, but that was it for him.

Saturday, we ran out in the morning, to try and avoid the coming rain. Hit the Wally's, the gas station, and a couple of other quick errands before grabbing a bite of lunch at the White Castle and heading back home for a quiet afternoon and evening. I did laundry, read my stories, and puttered about, he took a nap with the dog. It poured rain. We talked to Auntie on the phone, and I went online to Harry & David and sent her a fruitcake, since she is the only person I know that actually loves the stuff and gets disappointed if no one sends her one. I lucked out--they had them on sale for six dollars off, plus free shipping. Not boozy fruitcake, though--just the plain, nonalcoholic kind.

Spouse made his Crockpot ribs, and we did twice-baked potatoes and tossed salad with it for dinner. After dinner, I popped "Love, Actually" in the DVD player, made a cup of cocoa, and relaxed while Spouse studied.


Slept in yesterday, since we had no pressing plans for the day. We knew we were in for cold, snow and horrendous wind all day, so we figured we'd have a "stay in your jammies" (or in our case, sweats) day. After we got up, we talked to Mom on the phone a while. My bitch SIL was mean to her this week, so she needed some bucking up.

After we got off the phone with her, I made some fresh-ground coffee and fresh-squeezed orange juice while Spouse whipped up ham, scrambled eggs, hash browns, and toast. De-lish. We make a dandy hot breakfast in these parts.

After we got the kitchen cleaned up from breakfast, I continued my assault on the laundry, which was complicated by the dryer acting up--it doesn't want to run more than 20 minutes if you set it on high. Oh, well. Just have to dry everything on permanent press. I hope it holds out a while. I swear, if one more appliance dies before this year is out, I'm going to check myself into the rubber room motel.

I also tackled the necessary-yet-formidable Christmas baking job of making Spritz cookies. It wouldn't be Christmas without them, but there is no denying that they demand a lot of fussing, and they're the kind of "no breaks" recipe that demands constant involvement from the time you get out the mixer until the last batch is out of the oven. And they leave a bit of a cleanup project, as well. So that pretty much wore me out.

Spouse made dinner, though, for which I was most grateful. He cooked the extra pan of stuffing from his Thanksgiving batch, roasted a couple of bone-in chicken breasts, and threw a steamer bag of Schwan's baby carrots in the nukerator. Simple but lovely dinner.

After dinner, I tried watching the Family Guy Christmas show, but ugh! I was disgusted and turned it off. Can somebody tell me why a person who gets paid millions to do what I can only assume he loves to do can be so bitter, hateful, and repulsive? Jeez, Seth. Whatever crawled up your ass and died--I'm sure you could afford to have it removed!

Thank goodness TVs come with an off switch. As I said, I utilized that option. Read for a while, then went to bed and read for a while more before nodding off.
Spouse decided to drive me to work today, as it was still very cold and windy, and the roads were a bit dodgy. I don't think he trusts my car. (I know I don't.) I wasn't complaining. As long as he was aware I had a chiro appointment after work, I was fine with it. And boy, did I need a trip to the chiro. The hip was so far out of place, I was walking sideways--and my neck was a complete mess as well. The place was mobbed, though. My doc is out next week because his wife is having a baby, so he's trying to squeeze in all the regulars this week.

Other assorted stuff--
Got an email today from my former AwesomeBoss; it contained a link to his wedding video. He got married in LV over the weekend. Happy for him and his wife; they've been together for nearly 15 years, so it's about time!

Need to stop at the store tomorrow on the way home and get supplies to make a crockpot full of beanie-weenie. I got roped into contributing to a holiday potluck at work; two of the people on the committee are good friends, so they strong-armed me a bit. And, as usual, no one is signing up for main dishes, so I will trot out my old standard for feeding the masses on the cheap.

And since I want to make chocolate crinkles on Thursday (burning more vacation this week), I need the supplies for that, as well. Really, the only things I need for that are bittersweet chocolate, eggs, and more unsalted butter. Really need to get my bake on this week; the M&M cookies are gone, the peanut butter are almost gone, and the Spritz are going fast. That man can really plow through the cookies! He took a tin of assorted with him to class tonight, too. But that's pretty much why I bake them, so that doesn't bother me, really. He adores cookies, and this is pretty much the only time of year when I go to town in that department. Although I usually bake a batch for Valentine's, too.

I'm beat, and it's still bitch-ass cold, so I think it's time to crawl under the electric blanket, snuggle up to that big furry furnace that I call a dog, and pass out till morning.

Reading: Hobby--Come Christmassy stories: "Romance of a Christmas Card" (1916), by Kate Douglas Wiggin, "Christmas, A Story" (1912), by Wisconsin native, Pulitzer Prize winner, and Equal Rights pioneer Zona Gale, "The Burglar and the Blizzard" (1914), by Alice Duer Miller.
Also, another Carolyn Wells; "Vicky Van" (1918).

General--"Compulsion" (2008), by Jonathan Kellerman. Kind of stalled on this one. Just not feeling enough sympathy for any of the characters.

Surfing: .

Listening: assorted Christmas stuff.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com