rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















I do love me a device
December 01, 2010

My friend W has always told me I am a "Glasswalker", which has something to do with a werewolf RPG she plays. When I asked her to explain why, she told me that it was because I never do anything the old-fashioned way, when I could utilize a device instead--and preferably, the latest thing in devices.

I wouldn't go quite that far, but I do have to say that I rather like living in a world with personal computers, MP3 players, and e-readers. Especially the last item, at the moment. I love my new reader. It enables me to carry my e-books around with me, and read one book at a time, instead of bopping back and forth between e-books on the netbook and paper for when I'm out and about. It also lets me up the font size when my eyes are tired, and I find myself ever more grateful for any help I can get in that department.

In short--I LIKE it.


Last evwening, I found myself in a state that I've been missing the last few months--a geek-out. And since Spouse was out of the house for classes, I was able to really act on it. I spent the entire evening happily futzing around, formatting addresses and importing them into label templates for the Christmas cards, writing and printing up the "4 Truths and a Lie" slips for inserting into the Holiday Card Exchange envelopes, and writing a letter to Uncle, complete with inserting and resizing photos.

Fun! And it was really good for me to be able to get in the zone on something. I'm thinking the new dose of levothyroxine is really kicking in.

And speaking of the health/energy thing, I was bemused by the new report about how much Vitamin D we really need. It was a bit surprising to hear that my current dose is twice what they are now recommending. But they mentioned that this new dose was arrived at by focusing on skeletal health. Since I actually take it to support thyroid function and to keep the eczema at bay, I think I'll stay just where I am.

And then, there is the fact that my supplement is calibrated at 500 units per gummi, and the new dose is 600 i.u. How inconvenient is that, I ask you?



Reading: Hobby/General--"Hilda Wade; A Woman with Tenacity of Purpose"(1899), by Grant Allen. Allen's last novel; he dictated the the final chapter while on his deathbed, to his good friend Arthur Conan Doyle. Rather interesting tale of a woman's quest for justice. The title character is another strong, intelligent, and rational woman, making her own way in the world. I rather like Mr. Allen's female leads--they are definitely my kind of people.

(Of course, the actual adventures in foreign places are as horribly portrayed as only a Victorian Englishman can do; the imperialistic tone is enough to kick you right out of the story. Case in point: The bloodthirsty savages the hero and heroine deal with at one point in the narrative are...Tibetan Buddhist monks.)

Surfing:.

Listening: Ray LaMontagne, The B-52s, Counting Crows, Randy Newman, Foo Fighters, Shawn Colvin, Tom Petty.

And the "5 Neat Guys"--Lin Brehmer opened his show with an SCTV clip this morning, and what does it say about me that I was able to sing along with all the classics: "I've Got a Hickey on My Shoulder", "Pimples and Pockmarks", "She Does It", "Patsy Has the Largest Breasts In Town", "Who Brought the Egg Salad Sandwiches"--and,of course--"Don't Step on my Clip-On Tie".

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com