rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















twenty-five years
June 15, 2010

Back then, I couldn't envision what today would be. IF today would be.But here I am, and I still don't feel like I know what twenty-five years feels like.

A quarter of a century. What the heck happened? Silver anniversaries are for old people, not for me. oh, well--guess I'll stick it a while longer...

Celebration-wise, Spouse and I had a divine anniversary lunch at Wildfire in Lincolnshire. Tried to get the kids to come, but they're too busy, so it was just us two. Nice wine, delicious food, decadent desserts, and two old married farts. I had a wine flight with a Pinot Grigio (very nice), a Chardonnay (bleah), a Cabernet Sauvignon (surpisingly good), and a Merlot (that I actually loved). Andwhen I got home, I had a badly needed nap!

Spouse bought me a beautiful ring; silver (naturally) setting with an open heart design and ribbons of black and white pave diamonds running through it. Not a terribly expensive piece, but very lovely. (My nephew B showed a photo of it to his girl, and now she wants one. I told him he could probably afford it, if he really wanted to.)

Interesting historical note: today is also the 76th anniversary of my grandparents elopement.


I'm being kind of lazy so far on this vacay, although I have been getting things accomplished, here and there. No strawberries yet, though--the weather has been too wet to go picking. Tomorrow is my best shot, I think. That's the plan at the moment.

Reading: Hobby--"The Adventures of Elizabeth Ann", by Josephine Lawrence. "The Outdoor Girls on Pine Island Or, A Cave and What It Contained" by "Laura Lee Hope" (starting with this one, the author is Elizabeth M. Duffield Ward).

General--"Michael Tolliver Lives", by Armistead Maupin (a re-read that's making me want to dig out my omnibus edtions of the first six TOTC books)

Surfing: After digging through this site, I can only say--GAAAHH!!

Listening: nothing in particular, unless you count the 1940s music they were playing at the restaurant today.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com