rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















long weekend
June 01, 2010

I wish I had the energy to bitch about my job. Cause there's some bitching to be done, but I'm just too tired to tackle it. I really didn't need this damned malady to show up and sap all my stamina just as my career is...well...careering.
The long weekend: we opened the pool (although we never got the ladder installed), I made a batch of blackberry jam, cleaned out another cupboard, did laundry, did the hanging baskets of flowers, pulled some weeds. Spouse made some lovely meals on the grill, a batch of homemade ice cream that was simply wonderful, did his usual house-cleaning routine, and we both relaxed a bit.



Reading:"First Among Sequels", by Jasper Fforde. "Kit of Greenacre Farm", by Izola Forrester(1919). This is a one-off to rest between series; I'll be starting on The Outdoor Girls ("Laura Lee Hope") pretty soon, so I'm taking a breather with a few recommended singletons. Series books are grueling if you do too many series in a row. Strictly speaking, "Kit" IS part of the "Greenacre Farm" (set of three) books, but it reads well enough as a stand-alone. I found it through Redeeming Qualities; her reviews really sold me on a couple of titles. "Phyllis", by Maria Thompson Daviess (1914)is another one I've been dipping into.

Surfing: Feeding my habit.

Listening: Cranberries, Counting Crows, Peter Bjorn and John.

At Random: click here

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com