rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















goodbye, Harvey and other stuff
May 30, 2008

Shit. Now Harvey. This is a hard one.

It feels like Harvey's art belonged very particularly to my generation. When we were little tots, he was The Great Gazoo on "The Flintstones". When we were a little older, and watching Carol Burnett every week with our families, we were cracking up right along with Harvey. Then we got to be teenagers, and looking for something more edgy and irreverent. He was there for us then, too, giving us Hedly Lamar and Count DeMonet.

I feel like I've lost a funny, favorite uncle.

Tonight, I think I�ll crack open the DVD cabinet and set myself up a tribute marathon: �Blazing Saddles�, �High Anxiety�, �History of the World, Pt I�, and wrapping it up with �The Longshot�.

If only I had a copy of the Star Wars Holiday Special. Yeah, He was in that, too.


Given that we�ve lost Sidney Pollack, Dick Martin, Harvey Korman, and composer Earl Hagen in the last couple of weeks, and assuming the old �death comes in threes� holds true�what are we due?
Whenever I get jolted awake suddenly, I am horribly noise-sensitive for the rest of the day. Whenever I have to drive in a severe thunderstorm, I am horribly noise-sensitive for the rest of the day.

Both of these things apply to today. And I�m a jumpy, shakey, stressy thing, that�s for sure. I rather I didn�t have a bunch of shit I need to do this afternoon�I really need a quiet, darkened room, and a nice application of heavy pressure and warmth (Mr. B�s department)

But I got to go to the DMV, instead. Well, the emissions testing station, which is a lot easier to deal with than the main DMV�and a lot closer to my house. And since they made it so you can get your stickers right there instead of driving out to the middle of the county with your paperwork, it�s much simpler. Still costs $86 bucks though, thanks to our asshole governor who thinks that we�re going to think he�s doing us a favor by raising fees and slapping on surcharges instead of taxes. (And then the taxes go up anyway, so we get screwed all ways, and �Welcome to Taxconsin, may I take your money please?�)

The reason for the jolting awake was that I�ve (unusually for me) been the middle of a dream cycle when the alarm went off the past couple of mornings. I�m having one of my periodic intense dreaming phases this week, I guess. Not entirely unpleasant dreams, but having the alarm go off while I�m REM-ing just screws me up royally for the whole day.

Dreams are funny things. One night, you�re having a really raunchy bout of hot sweaty sex with Brendan Fraser, and the next night you�re trying to answer a telephone while Spouse is whining about needing me to bring him his knee brace.


The BF sex dream was interesting, because it took place in the current timeframe (he was divorced), but he had his circa 1997, �George of the Jungle� body. Woof.

Reading: "Murder in the Museum", by Simon Brett

Beading: Waiting for my bead order to arrive.

Surfing: Going Jesus. The Passion of the Tchotchke�hee.

Listening: I actually have my earplugs in, so I�m actively NOT listening.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com