rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















But I notice they didn�t they call it Healthy Bitch
March 26, 2008

The featured Associated Press clip on the Amazon page for �Skinny Bitch�.

"The authors are brazen...They're not trying to win popularity contests...they just want healthy people."


Yeah. Riiiiiiight.

My good friend and SIL E. has read the infamous �Skinny Bitch�, and has decided she wants to go vegetarian. Not vegan, though. She loves her shoes and her bags way too much for that. (Sorry, was that nasty of me?)

The whole concept of that book makes my teeth itch, and if E really wants to know the truth about what is in the food she eats, then that�s cool. But one poorly written, rude, and factually suspect book by two people with dubious credentials is not enough to base a profound lifestyle change on. When I said this, she agreed with me and said she would be willing to read more on the subject if I would do the legwork.

I�m in the process of putting together a more reasonable reading list for her, and if anyone actually reads this diary, please feel free to make suggestions in the comments. For, or against, I don�t really care. And there are many good things to be said for following a vegetarian diet, provided it is not deficient in any nutrients. But basing it on a bunch of vulgar talk from a model and a model booker just strikes me as wrong somehow.

Also�she has said emphatically that she is not interested in any religion-based arguments for or against; her interest lies in the health-related and ecological benefits of eating a meat-free diet. If anyone is out there, the comments would like to know what you can recommend�

Reading: "A Short History of a Small Place" (1985), by T.R. Pearson. It�s not that short�

Surfing: Looking for stuff on vegetarianism.

Listening: The late, great Steve Goodman. His cover of �The Dutchman� made me (as always) mist up, but a YouTube clip of him doing �A Dying Cub Fan�s Last Request� just a few months before he died? I was bawling.

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com