rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















Friday babble
February 15, 2008

We�ve got a wedding next weekend, and I am really looking forward to it. My friend D�s oldest son and his�wife. Doing it right, this time, in his parent�s eyes anyway. And since I will be attending an Indian wedding, and since it is being held in the Empire Room at The Palmer House in Chicago, I desperately need to get something to wear. My old, tattered, and faded rags are not going to do in this particular case.

So we�re headed to the city tomorrow. �We� being me, Spouse, P, and E. I can get my shopping in, and we can all go to �Smoque� , a barbeque place on Pulaski that we want to try. Hey--the place has a barbeque manifesto! They must be serious about good barbeque.


I just splurged (a whole ten bucks) on a more up-market home hair color. Revlon Colorist, it�s called. I usually get their cheaper Color Silk variety, because it�s--well, cheap--and because it doesn�t turn my hair to straw. But the last time I used it, I didn�t get very good grey coverage, and it faded really fast. This stuff comes with a weekly �booster� treatment, that is supposed to both keep one�s hair soft and to add a little extra shot of color. All I know is I can�t deal with that grey old head I keep seeing in the mirror.

I�m hoping it works for me, because I do want my hair to look nice for the wedding next weekend. I can�t do it right now, though, because today was haircut day. Can�t dye hair that�s been washed twice in one day. Maybe Sunday, since it looks like we�ll be housebound under a foot of snow. Again.

Reading: Lisa Gardner�s �Alone�.

Surfing: Lileks . I�ve had years of fun, courtesy of James and his little corner of the Internet. Well, his sizable acreage, actually.

Listening: The latest Lileks podcast of �The Diner�

At Random: click here




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com