rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















progress
January 14, 2008

It looks like Niece and Nephew will be living in Salem for a while; A&J are renting a place near her sister. They�re still trying to decide if they will rebuild or buy a house elsewhere. Big decision; it�s going to take some time.

The lot is cleared now, just the foundation left, a gaping hole in the ground. Nephew was helping clear the mess by the creek this weekend, working with his Scout troop. Most of those guys are from that neighborhood, so it goes deeper than being good scouts�they�re being good neighbors and friends, too.

His local scout council has put in nephew for national recognition; I�m hoping he gets it. And I�m hoping his work with the tornado cleanup will count for his community service requirements for Eagle. I am a firm believer in scouting, and was a GSA member from age 7 to 16. My older brothers were deeply involved in Boy Scouts as well. But the Nephew is the only one of my nieces and nephews to stay in scouting, and I�m tremendously proud of him, both for his heroism of a week ago, and for his commitment to scouting.


I tried to get myself caught up and back on track this weekend, but success has been limited. I went to Penney�s on Saturday with the hope of picking up some new work clothes, but the store was impassable due to a 50% off clearance sale. The Gurnee store had lines for the register banks at each entrance, and they were so long that they met in the center of the store. I took one look at that zoo and gave it a pass. Couldn�t do it. I�ll try again another time.

Spouse had better luck. His gift card is for Sears, where it was much quieter. He was able to pick up some tools and a new pair of slippers without any hassle.

One of the things that I�m trying to drag back onto the track is my quit-smoking project. I am following some more of the suggestions from my program, and doing pretty well with my �mini-quits�. I was able to go from 9:30 Saturday morning until 6:00 this morning with out a hit. I wussed out due to the constipation. The only way I was going to get the job done was to light up.

But I only took 7 puffs before I put it out. Just enough to get things moving. I know this is going to be one of the hardest obstacles for me, because I have enough problems in this department as it is, without adding to it. (And enough psychological baggage from those problems.)

And I did try. More fluids, more fiber�I even took a big dose of Glycolax yesterday, to try and forestall the problem. But once it starts to be painful, I have to deal with it any way I can. And unfortunately, the one thing that I know will work is a cigarette.

It�s really hard to quit when you can�t have no passions, because focus on anything as replacement. And I have been having a crisis of passion for quite a while now. I wish I wasn�t having to face the general lack of interest issues at the same time I�m trying to quit smoking, but I know from experience that I smoke worse than ever during a manic phase. So I�m trying now, at an atypical time for me, and hoping that I�ll be atypically successful. And that the lack of interest will actually extend to the cigarettes.

One thing is for certain, my crazed need to keep busy yesterday resulted in a pretty fair amount of housework. I did seven loads of wash, scrubbed the kitchen, scrubbed the bathroom, cooked a huge dinner (Roast turkey, stuffing, baked sweet potatoes, fresh green beans, mashed potatoes and gravy, and butter-flake rolls), and cleaned the kitchen again.

I was a little spazzy, I�ll admit. I purposely stayed in my pajamas, even after I showered, because I was afraid if I got dressed, I�d go buy cigarettes!

Reading: Why can�t I find anything I want to read?! I find the deep stuff daunting and depressing, and the light stuff ridiculous and pointless. I just can�t find the zone.

Listening: WDRV. The Who, The Beatles, Bad Company.

At Random: clickhere




|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com