rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















A whole bunch of not much of a weekend
September 05, 2006

Friday
The pooch made it through surgery on Friday, with flying colors. Poor baby has a hideous shaved patch on her head, and a big old line of sutures zig-zagging across it. A shaved patch on her foreleg from the IV, too. She looks pathetic.
Seems to feel fine, though. I only had to give her pain meds on Saturday, and since they made her so dopey, I held off Sunday, and watched to see if she seemed to need them. She didn�t, so I quit giving her the Tramadol. It was only making her feel upset and constipating her.



Saturday
Up early, and hard at the housework in order to get it out of the way. Spouse attacked the overgrown jungle in the yard, and hacked that back into submission. Then we got cleaned up and went to Milwaukee. Stopped for a short visit with our pilot friend, who is still dithering back and forth on what he wants to do with the rest of his life. Then headed over to the home to see Papa.

Who isn�t going to get out. P&E are committing him on a permanent basis this week. It is really the only thing they can do, since he refuses to do what�s necessary to get out or to stay out. And none of us can stay at home and wipe his ass for him all day.

We took him out for a walk, and visited the local motorcycle dealership. He seemed to enjoy that�getting out into the sun and fresh air (Saturday was gorgeous), and shopping at the Harley store. He got a cool Brando-style, retro hat, a long-sleeved shirt, and a money clip like Spouse�s. What for, I have no idea, but he enjoyed shopping, and having us spend time and money on him. Considering that all he had to do was sit and get pushed in his chair, I was surprised that our little jaunt wiped him out so quickly, but he was ready for a nap when we got him back to his room.

After we got done at the home, we did some grocery shopping, and went home. At Spouse�s request, I made homemade Salisbury Steak for dinner. It came out very nicely, considering I hadn�t made that since practically ever. Mashed potatoes and baby peas to go with�a regular blue-plate special. With strawberries and pound cake for dessert.

I was pretty exhausted and in considerable pain by the end of the day, from cleaning, laundry, taking a long walk with Pops, and going from shopping to putting away to cooking dinner with out a break. I popped a couple percs and hit the rack early.



Sunday
Spouse rode his bike to some breakfast place in Illinois where all the local bikers go, and I took advantage of his absence to relax, enjoy my coffee, and have some toast. When he go home, we went on a few errands to the hardware store and the pool store, and then came home to work in the backyard. I spent two whole hours cleaning my pool, which was a disaster after multiple rainstorms. And, of course, then I got to actually swim!

And Spouse, instead of any of the five gazillion practical and useful home improvement jobs he could have been doing, refurbished the bird feeder. Cleaned and scraped it and gave it three fresh coats of polyurethane. And then went inside on a beautiful afternoon and watched a DVD (Syriana).

Whatever.

He grilled steaks and baked potatoes, and I cooked up some Trader Joe�s Fire-Roasted Corn, and we had more strawberries and pound cake for dessert.



Monday? Since it was a grey, shitty, rainy day, I just spent most of the day reading. The laundry was caught up, the house was reasonably clean, and I don�t often get the chance to crawl into a book anymore. And I didn�t have to deal with the Time Bandit, either.

He slept the entire day away. Oh, he got up and ate breakfast--not the breakfast I�d planned for, of sausage and eggs, but oatmeal and toast. And then he went back to bed. He got up at 12:30 and wanted to know where his lunch was, so I ran out for some KFC. Just to shut him up, frankly. And then he went back to bed again.

He didn�t bother getting up for dinner, since I�d informed him after lunch that I�d provided two hot meals for him and that was it. If he wanted dinner, he was on his own. So naturally, he didn�t eat any. (Making that breakfast sausage AND bratwursts that got thawed but not eaten. Damn, that pisses me off.)

He just lay in bed, whinging and moaning about how he hurrrrt, and how baaad he felt.

Yeah. His life is the only one that sucks, and no one else hurts or feels down. All him. Everything is about him.

Whatever.




Reading: �The Quintessence of Queen�, edited by Anthony Boucher. This is an on EQMM anthology from the early sixties, with stories by William Faulkner, Leslie Charteris, and Hugh Pentecost, among others. Great, classic short stories of mystery and suspense.

Beading: You know, I should be. And it wasn�t like I didn�t have the time. But I just didn�t seem to be in the mood this weekend.

Listening: XM, Fungus. New Mexican Disaster Squad, AFI, Toy Dolls (Bitten by a Bed Bug!�sweet!)

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com