rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















indolence
August 19, 2006

It's so nice to have a weekend where I don't have to spend all my time playing catch-up with the laundry and other housework! I still have stuff to do, like mopping the kitchen and scouring the sink and changing the bed linens, but it still isn't anything like my normal weekend workload, because I've been doing a little every day to keep up.



Not that I'm doing anything terribly productive with my free time, though. A little beading, but now that's on hold till I can get more big-eye needles this afternoon. Mostly, I�m enjoying the delicious luxury of having chunks of time I can spend on doing nothing.

And I�ve been thoroughly enjoying my Agatha Christie collection this week. I've read Cards on the Table, Cat Among the Pigeons, Mrs. McGinty's Dead, The Mirror Crack'd from Side to Side, Third Girl, Five Little Pigs, and The A.B.C. Murders, and I'm currently on Murder in Three Acts.
I have an absurd number of titles, and each of them gets re-read periodically. I usually do it like this--a bean feast of literary mystery, where I devour them one after another for a week or two. Aggies take me just a few hours to read, so I can easily shoot through a dozen before I move on to something else.



It seems to be a muggy and dreary weekend , following a fierce bit of rain, so I can get out of yard work and pool maintenance today. I�ve a few errands to run, but nothing pressing. The aforementioned beading needles, and some polish remover for my nails. I can�t stand cheesy-looking polish, and I�ve pretty much ruined the paint job the manicurist did. I want to repaint, with the lovely polish Niece bought me at Sally Beauty the other day. It�s my favorite kind of silvery-pink (not OPI, but Nina Ultra-Pro, which I also have had good luck with in the past). It�s called �Powder Puff�.
But--I find I�m out of remover. I�ve not painted my nails in so long, I�d no idea there was none in the house. And I need some good super-shine topcoat, as well.

So I�m going to enjoy a leisurely shower (and the luxury of running around in a state of undress that I�ve been denied this week, with the kid here), throw on some shorts and my Earth Shoe flip-flops, and head out, so I can wrap this stuff up and get home to my beads, my nail lacquer, and my lovely, luscious solitude.

I suppose I could do the grocery shopping as well, but Spouse came home from work last night with a menu all written out , for his choice of Sunday dinner. And I figure that if he wants to be that way, then I�ll just make him share the shopping duty, and we�ll pick the stuff up tomorrow.




Reading: Summer Vacation "Aggie" Festival! Five Six Poirots and a Miss Marple.

Beading: A ladder stitch necklace and bracelet using two different sizes of cat�s-eye druks, in white, light green, and dark green.

Listening: Book on CD. "Dairy Queen�, by Catherine Murdock

At Random: click here


|

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com