rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















lovely spring morning
Saturday, Apr. 16, 2005, 8:26 AM

After the vitriolic entries of the last two days, I had to grab myself by the nape and give me a good shaking. Hormones are so frickin' evil.

Feeling much more sprightly this morning, despite things. I woke up to a luxurious bed-cuddle from my dog, and then the two of us got up and going, taking a very pleasant walk around the neighborhood on a fine spring morning.

We are finally seeing a flurry of blossoming; tulips, daffodils, bluebells, and tons of wild violets. For a transplanted Southern Iowa girl, it always feels like spring is never going to come to this town on the lake. Seeing the flowers bloom gives me some hope.

And makes me want to plant more! Even though I know it's too early to put in my impatiens and petunias and all my other annual faves, I have to keep fighting the strong urge to head over to the garden center. Enough with the grunt work--the boring old clean-up chores around the yard! I want to get to the showy glamour of actual flowers!



After we got home from our walk, I realized I was out of Prilosec, and as much as I wanted a cup of coffee, I decided to run to the drugstore first. I'd pay way too dearly for the coffee if I didn't. So I did that while Spouse stirred and got ready for work.

I got home just in time to kiss him out the door, and then set myself up with a pill, and the yummy luxury of a really fresh pot of Sumatran and some uninterrupted keyboard time.

Even though I do, as usual, have a million and one things I should be doing, I just have to have some me time occasionally.

I took a bit for myself last night, too. My last unwatched "Rumpole" DVD, and the bead board.

I finished the niece necklace with beads to spare, did the not-so-fun part of it by attaching the clasp, even did the sealing of the thread with fray-chek, and Voila! Graduation gift!

I hope she likes it. And I hope her mercenary mother understands a few things: A)It is NOT some piece of cheap, crafty-corner tat--it is a custom designed and hand-crafted piece of jewelry, that I would tag no lower than $30.00 for a jewelry show. B) I took my time, energy, money, and talent to create this for her daughter, in ADDITION to contributing a significant chunk of money towards a laptop computer for her.

But her mom is such a...grr. Not going any farther down that road this morning.

Oh. I just remembered I've got to book a room! Oh, well. Time to get my butt in gear, anyway.




Reading: "Hard Times (For These Times)"by Charles Dickens

Listening: WDRV, The Drive's online radio station, "Deep Tracks". Mark Knopfler, at the moment.

If you are in your forties, this is a great Chicago radio station that I listen to a lot, and highly recommend. And thanks to their online version, you don't have to live here to enjoy it.


Beading: Finished my grad's necklace last night in a burst of energetic beading. Not sure what's next.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com