rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















tuesday's child is fed up with her job
Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2005,

Yesterday's entry devolved into something of a rant. I had other things to say about my day, but they kind of got lost in all the bellyaching. But that's what diaries are for, right?



After we got home Sunday, I poked around the house a little, feeling bored. So I decided to go in the kitchen and be productive. The end result was three dozen miniature sausage meatballs--enough for three dinners. We didn't even have Italian for dinner, anyway. Spouse ate a can of some disgusting processed glop* for dinner, and I ended up skipping it; after the pancakes for breakfast and the rib tips for lunch, I just didn't want any. So the spaghetti and homemade meatballs is on for tonight.

Last night we had our leftovers from Famous Dave's, and the leftover potato salad, macaroni salad, and coleslaw we'd gotten at Meijers. Easy, tasty, and trying to be less wasteful.

* Since his mother has always been a lousy cook, canned grossness like Chef Boyardee and Dinty Moore are his comfort foods. Gack in a can, but he likes it.



I was a little shocked this morning when I looked out and saw several inches on new snow on my car. The weather wonks had predicted rain>freezing rain>sleet for today and tomorrow, but didn't call this one. I dealt. Put on my schlub coat and my new boots, took the push broom, and shoved the snow off the car, before going back in and changing for work. I hate winter.


I'm going out on a limb here and declaring myself officially "back on the horse", as regards the diet and exercise. I went to the gym yesterday and did my usual treadmill workout, and then followed that with some time on the Life Cycle recumbent. As I had D joining me in the calorie burn, I didn't really get to record my numbers, but it was about a mile on the treadmill, and a mile on the bike, for around a 175 calorie burn. I'm going to have to go back to keeping a little notebook for that, I guess. I made sure I committed it to memory today. 1.25 miles, 170 calories, 24.75 minutes. Feel it! D did pretty well, for her second day. she kept plugging for 25 minutes, and came in just under 3/4 of a mile.

I'm not sure if I'm happy about working out with someone else; that is a deeply personal thing for me. I'm not particularly good company (I feel) when I'm sweating away at it. But I think D needs the support, and someone there to take her mind off of what she is doing. And some days, when I want to punk out, it will be good to have someone to prod me.

I have decided not to weigh in again until I have gotten through two consecutive weeks of (at least) five workouts apiece. The weight number just isn't as important as how I feel physically and emotionally, and I don't want anything bringing me down. That can just wait.

And as long as I get my exercise, I can eat reasonable portions of regular food without detriment. I have to remember that, and use it as a motivator. And I'll get another chance to be extra-good when Spouse leaves for Atlanta on the 22nd.



Still catching fallout from what wasn't IDed in test last month. One of the many projects where development was totally uncooperative during test, but oooooh so quick to blame test when the production bug showed up. I knew that one was going to have repercussions down the road, and covered my ass six ways to Sunday. So bring it on. You aren't going to get that shit to stick to me.

Still, it feels like a nasty witch hunt, and my friggin' supervisor seems to be the one leading the mob. I'll tell you right now, if anyone gets up in my face about this, I'm kicking up a ruckus about the whole mess. Last week, I tried to focus on the positive stuff from the last cycle, but they'll get the plain unvarnished about it if they push. Including my EXACT opinion of Absentee Supervisor's capabilities. Let them fire me. At this point, I can't really afford this job much longer anyway, and the whole situation around here has me so demoralized I don't even care anymore. Or maybe shedding my depression has gotten me to the point where I do care, and just want out.



I've been reading some...interesting...websites recently. First, godhatesfags.com. I'm not linking to anything that hardcore evil. Some highly creative and virulent hating going on there. Also, ihatepatrobertson.com, which is the other side of the coin, and spews some bona-fide hatred of its own. Intolerance is insidious, and can creep into your life whenever you feel strongly about an issue. Look at me--I have a really hard time dealing with stupidity, and am apt to be very impatient and intolerant when forced to deal with those of less brainpower. I catch myself being judgmental about them all the time. But at least I catch myself, and attempt to be tolerant, instead of reveling in my intolerance like so many raving, spittle-flecked loons do these days. And I include Coulter AND Chomsky on that list.

I've also been looking into Centrist organizations to join, and did some very interesting reading on the subject, but I've concluded I'm just not a joiner.

Basically, I think I may be closer to Libertarian anyway, because my credo seems to be "Government, stay out." Stay out of my room, stay out of my wallet, stay out of my womb, and stay out of other people's countries. I don't agree with them 100%, but I seem to agree with them on more things than any other party. And on some of the things I disagree with, they seem to at least have a rational and well-thought out position.



Anyway. Tonight: a nice dinner, do my evening chores, and settle down for a winter's evening with Cold Case Files and my beads.



Reading: �Lost in a Good Book", by Jasper Fforde (2nd Thursday Next book)


Listening: Yes, still more �Avenue Q�, memorization proceeding nicely, thank you.


Beading: Beaded watchband has been officially abandoned. I just couldn't get a design I liked. Now I'm working on a RAW "hugs and Kisses" bracelet, using creamy pearlescent grey lantern-cut beads. Hugs are done, kisses start tonight. (Delicas, in gunmetal iris)





recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com