rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















TWTWTW
2004-08-06, Friday

One is not supposed to see one�s breath in Southern Wisconsin, in August! I got out of the car at work this a.m., and I did. Far be it from me to bitch, though. I have really been enjoying this cooler-than-usual summer. It takes me back to 1979, when we were getting ready to move here.

My dad was already working up here, staying in a rented apartment during the week and coming home on weekends. Sammy and I came up to spend a week with him in July, and it was cold, compared to Southern Iowa. We fell in love with the place, thinking that the weather was normal. Turns out, that was the coldest summer in like 30 years, and was a totally freaky thing. The normal weather was just as miserable, hot and humid as down home�but with more cloudy days.

Talk about feeling ripped off.

Well, anyway. This week. I owe myself an apology for such laxity, but I�ve been equally strapped for time, and for solitude in proximity to computer. Spouse and I have had our resources stretched paper-thin this week, and we are both basket cases.

A brief recap, culled from the blur:

Monday

Work like a fiend, go home, collapse. Frozen Stouffer�s French Bread Pizza for dinner. Read a bit, bead a bit, xword a bit, fall into bed. Somewhere in there, I spent a few minutes pounding out a brief screed about my mate.

Tuesday

Work like a fiend, go to store, go home, make a reasonable dinner of bbq pork chops, twice-baked potatoes, and tossed salad. Clean up kitchen. Big storms to come, so batten down lawn furniture, trank the dog, and pop in "Sondheim: A Celebration at Carnegie Hall". Still more beading. Somewhere in there, I tried and failed, diary-wise. Fell into bed.

Wednesday

Get trash on curb before work. Work like a fiend, go home, collapse. Eventually go get Kentucky Fried Crap for dinner. Pick at dinner, tidy up a bit, read a bit, bead a bit, xword a bit, fall into bed. Somewhere in there, managed a brief diary entry.

Thursday

Work like TWO fiends, go to store, go home, make a reasonable dinner of steak, country smashed potatoes, and tossed salad. Clean up kitchen. Put in a load of towels. Mend Raji�s toy (Teddy Dolly). Walk to gas station and buy chocolate for jonesing Spouse. Rub the feet of said Spouse. A&E Crime Spree TV, along with another round of�you guessed it�beading. xword a bit, fall into bed, finally.

Which brings us to:

Friday

Worked like a�lazy slacker, actually. I�m just burned out at this point, and they are implementing this weekend whether I find bugs or not, so piss on it. They got their pound of flesh this week, so I I�m not feeling particularly guilty. I do have a busy afternoon ahead, though, so I�d best get going. I need to run to the bank, pick up his jacket at the tailors, try and get some housework done, make a list for the trip, and god knows, a hundred other little things.

One cool note: I got urgent email from W. this a.m. Jethro Tull, November 4th, Milwaukee. Do I want to go? Do I want to go? Hay-ell, yess! It�s at the Riverside, too. Good venue.

Flashback, 10 years ago. The 25th Anniversary Tour at the Marcus, with Procol Harum opening. Good times, good times.

Do I want to go? Honestly.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com