rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















charity and other private matters
2004-07-28, 7:53 p.m.

I just took a good look at my (home)desk. My desk is not a very personal space. Neither of my desks is a very personal space. I've realized I don't put a lot of myself on display. Well, the jewelry. I suppose that is an aspect of myself which I display. But mostly, my life is inside me, I guess. I am more private than I knew. (She thought, as she posted her innermost thought to the internet.)

I had to go to a focus group for my company's offically sponsored charity. They are trying to figure out why they can't squeeze more money out of the employees. I was dreading it, but it went fairly well. Except for the fact that is was a lunch meeting, and I had to suffer through the agony of listening to twenty people eat. I was getting pretty nauseated, but I managed to remain in the room.

The topic istelf generated a lot of discussion, and I seemed to score a couple of points with the H.R. tool who facilitated. I was pleased to hear people speak of the pressure put on employees to subscribe to the official corporate giving program. And resentment of said pressure. We covered some good topics, and all of my reasons for not giving at work were brought up--mostly by others. I just hope they take what they've learned and put it to use.

But I doubt it.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com