rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















not sick anymore; still tired and grumpy.
2004-07-27,

Still feeling pretty frickin� lousy. But I suppose I�ll survive. I made it to work today, for what it�s worth. And for what I was worth, which wasn�t much, I�m afraid.

Spouse took lil� Matt the cookies I baked him this weekend, and said he gave them the thumbs-up. I�m glad he liked them. I do make a pretty fabulous peanut-butter cookie.

I don�t really enjoy baking cookies, but that recipe is fairly quick and easy, as well as looking and tasting good. Win-win cookie results!

And�I believe in positive reinforcement. If a young person does something nice, of his own volition, and goes out of his way to do something kind�reward him! Matty fixed my satellite dish, so I baked him his favorite cookies. One good turn, and all that. I�m such a Girl Scout.

I actually did a bit of beading last night, stuck as I was on the heating pad, and being bored. I laid out a small choker, in various shades of pink. #11 Seed bead runs for spacing small faceted ovals, bicones, and frosted daisies. Probably going to use a small toggle to close Nothing fancy, but it will go nicely with my Magenta top.

Spouse is getting exceedingly peeved about his car payment issues. Seems that the good folks in the finance dept. can�t seem to find their arse w/ both hands. First, two GMAC statements. One says payment for June was made, one says Payment for June was NOT made. (FYI, IT WAS MADE!)

Nasty phone calls from people who were not prepared to hear the truth. When spouse informed them that payment was made, and when, they told him that the check was returned by the bank. Spouse then proceeds to ask why. The person on the phone got bitchy and said well, why do you suppose? Insufficient funds! Spouse tells the guy Bulls__t, because there were sufficient funds, and besides, the bank sends a return check notice in those cases, which we did not receive. He tells the guy he will talk to the bank, and hangs up.

So he goes to the bank and explains his problem. They check the records and inform him that they have no record of this check being presented. EVER.

Act three. Spouse talks again with the same a-wipes from GMAC�s kneecapping division. Explains the story so far. Asks to be referred to a manager. Is told to hang up and call a completely separate number for Customer assistance. Does so, and speaks with a rep who tells him that the check was returned, NOT as insufficient funds, but AS AN INVALID ACCOUNT NUMBER. Well, there are other reasons to get that message. I�m presuming that, since we print out checks on the computer, that the printing was bad or smeared on the computerized acct. number, and the check reader machine booted it. These things happen sometimes, even with professionally printed checks.

So. Stop pay, re-issue, and get on with our lives.

But neither Spouse nor I appreciate the uncalled-for remarks and general evil nastiness of the dopes who called the house. And they have NOT heard the last of ME. I do not appreciate their quantum leap to the conclusion that I and my Spouse, who have never knowingly bounced a check (and who have not bounced one UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES since the 1980s), are criminal deadbeats deserving of verbal abuse.

And as it happened that the person who initially called us did not have access to the reason the check was returned, everything he said about insufficient funds was just something he made up to be nasty. He was guessing. Well, he guessed wrong, and I can nail him. And I'm going to. I want the little shit punished.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com