rhymes with rhyme














navigation
current
archives
links page
profile















After Thanksgiving
November 30, 2020, 6:39 P.M.

I wish I felt like writing, but I will be honest with you...I'm not doing that great. We had a decent Thanksgiving and Spouse made a delicious meal,  but the B had a really bad Friday and even fell a couple of times.  I called and got him to the vet first thing Saturday,  but he was already doing a little better, thank goodness.  I had to lift him in and out of the car, though, so it fucked me up pretty good.

I was already feeling like shit because I had my physical on Friday and got the first dose of the shingles vaccine. It hit me hard...upset stomach,  aches, and a very sore injection site. I have to go in this friday for my blood draw,  because, needless to say,  I wasn't exactly fasting the day after a feast day.

And the vet ordered more physical therapy for B...on top of what I already dont have the time to do. I am supposed to double the reps we're doing already,  and then do a complete round of passive range of motion therapy. Three times a day.

The weekend went by pretty quick. And I was up at two worrying about work, and about my nephew's open heart surgery he was supposed to have, and about B, and about the upcoming blood tests. And when I didn't hear Spouse in the shower by 4:30, I had something more to worry about...he was sick with a stomach bug and was staying home. 

It wasn't too bad,  though, because he really was sick enough to stay in bed all day. Work was okay, not too horrible anyway. And right after I got off work,  we had to take B for a cold laser treatment.

I made meatloaf for dinner yesterday,  so the plan had been to have sandwiches tonight. But it was a cold raw day, and with his tummy, I thought we should have something gentler, so when we got home from the vet I threw together an impromptu turkey noodle soup. A box of turkey stock, a couple carrots and celery stalks chopped up, the rest of the Thanksgiving turkey breast, and a half cup of orzo, 30 minutes, and we had delicious, mostly homemade hot soup. And it was just what we needed. I even have enough left over for tomorrow's lunch.

As for my nephew,  he had some reaction to the antibiotics they put him on, so his surgery had to be postponed until January. God knows it's a bitch to get any surgery scheduled for December.  (I'll never know how my mom managed it.)
So we worry some more, and hope and pray he makes it that long.

So anyway, I think I picked the wrong day to give up drinking.





Reading: "His Official Fiancée (1914), by Berta Ruck"
One of my favorite themes of the period, the "pretend engagement".
http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/63865

Inked Up: Same pens as as last week...The Conklin Duragraph (Amber) fine, with Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Brown, (yes, it is always inked!)

Visconti Mirage (Emerald) fine, with some anonymous black cartridge I found in my drawer, because it hardly ever use black, and I thought I was due.

Parker IM Premium metallic brown, graphic lines pattern, medium nib,  with R&K Solferino, and a couple of antiques--the early 1950s

Sheaffer Cadet Touchdown (burgundy, m/f nib) that Scott bought me for Birthday 2020, and the

"American" brand ladies' pen in Rose Marble (fine nib) that I picked up at last year's Colorado Pen Show...both with Mont Blanc Burgundy, because it suits them each so well.

recede - proceed

hosted by DiaryLand.com